Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by lisa2roberto
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Delicious! Used a raisin challah which was a perfect compliment. This took approx 1hr and 30 mins at 300. At the last minute, I realized I did not have whiskey so I used Creme Anglaise from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I made a 1/2 recipe in an 8 inch square pan and used a homemade cinnamon swirl bread. I added a bit of nutmeg along with the cinnamon.It was very good. The sauce has a wonderful consistency. I baked it at 350 and took it out when it still looked just a bit wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This pudding recipe is almost identical to my own so I stuck with it, however the sauce recipe was new to me...its a keeper! I will make it with whiskey next time but did not have any, instead used butterscotch schnapps. The sauce is very easy to make but like one other reviewer I let it bubble before removing it from the heat, then added the liquor. Can't wait to try it with the whiskey. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tylertown, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly - except - increased the cinnamon to 1 Tablespoon and used Rum instead of Whiskey (what I had on hand). It was fabulous
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Absolutely delicious and I used the recipe exactly the way it was. I used egg challah as my bread and I think it was a perfect flavor and consistency for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
i used canned peaches and 3 apples. I cooked the apples a little on the stove before I added them to make sure they would be done. As other cooks suggested, I only made 1/2 of the sauce and it was plenty. My family loved the sauce so much - they were dipping their ham in it! It's a new favorite and I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Loved it! We served it for company and everyone was very happy with it. We halved the recipe and it was more than enough for the 4 of us! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
This is the best dessert I have ever had! I had company over and everyone LOVED it. The next morning we made pancakes and used the whiskey sauce as syrup...yummmy!!! (But like the others I used less whiskey in the sauce about 1/4 a cup)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
I don't really care for most of the bread puddings out there. I only made this recipe because my father in-law loves bread pudding and he is notoriously hard to please. That being said....oh my gosh! I followed one reviewer's advice and heated the sugar mixture until the sugar dissolved and was near boiling (you must have a steel pot for this or a double boiler and stir constantly or it'll burn). I then took it off the heat and added the rum (he prefers rum) a bit at a time. At 3/8ths of a cup, the mixture turned a velvety caramel color. I stopped there and tasted it, and it BLEW MY SOCKS OFF!!! I can't say much for the bread pudding, but this sauce alone was enough to give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
The whiskey sauce really makes this recipe, it will be the only one I make from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 173) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States