Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
The first time I tried this recipe I used up all of my leftover hamburger and hot dog buns that had taken root in my freezer. I had to adjust the recipe a little..adding more milk and cinnamon for the amount of bread I used. I also exchanged the sugar to Splenda and it was great, not to mention the response from the men in our crowd about whiskey sauce! It was a big it! This recipe will have a front row seat in my desert file. Thank you so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I following this recipe EXACTLY and it is the best bread pudding I've ever had! I increased the size to serve 40 people using the reciipe converter and this too worked very well. There wasn't a morsel of this wonderful dessert left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Being from Louisiana I am always on the hunt for good bread pudding. I have made this recipe numerous times over the past couple of years and it gets gobbled up every time. My uncle tries bread pudding everywhere he travels and swears this one beats all the others. I use butter croissants from Costco for the bread and I add diced peaches (with most of the heavy syrup drained off). My wife is not a fan of raisins and the peaches are a perfect substitute. I raise the temperature as others have suggested. For the sauce I didn't change a thing. One of the aspects of good New Orleans bread pudding that I enjoy is the whiskey "bite" in the sauce when the alcohol is not cooked off. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
I made this for a dinner party for dessert and everyone loved with the whiskey sauce and without. I did add a little more cinnamon just because I love cinnamon. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Scaled this down to 8 servings, soaked the golden raisins in Jack Daniels over night before making, used dark corn syrup for the sauce (along with the aforementioned Jack Daniels. Omigosh....I won't change a thing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashtabula, Ohio, USA
Living In: Bristow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Delicious!!! Best Bread pudding I have ever eaten!!! Those are the comments I received when I served this Christmas Eve. So easy to make. No changes made. It was perfect just the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lanesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
This was delicious! My kids don't like raisins, so I peeled three apples and finely diced them and tossed them with the bread. For bread, I used leftover hamburger and hot dog buns. Milk is super expensive where I live, so I used powdered milk instead. It did have to cook longer than the recipe stated and I used eight eggs instead of six. I thought the whiskey sauce was great. I saved the rest for ice cream. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kraley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I made this for my mom's birthday today! She really enjoyed it. I feel like my sauce should have been thicker but the taste was wonderful. I used french bread as suggested by others. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
This recipe was FANTASTIC! I followed the recipe exactly, and it was a hit with my hubby. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Savory Bacon & Crab Bread Pudding Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States