Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Excellent! This recipe makes a moist, light and rich bread pudding. I use rum instead of whiskey, and its over the top good. I've replaced my granny's recipe with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Mc P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
I made this bread pudding for the first time with leftover stuffing bread from Thanksgiving dinner. I took the advice from some other reviews and used 4 eggs and 4 cups of milk. I also added plumped raisins and about 2 T cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg to the mixture that is poured over the bread. This seemed to coat the bread very nicely. I cooked it in the oven without foil for the first 20 minutes until lightly brown and then covered with foil for 30 minutes. The last 10 minutes, I removed the foil and by doing this, the top of the bread did not burn, just got a nice golden color. For the sauce, I used a combination of Bailey's and Jamison's. Delicious!! My only concern was that I seemed to have quite a bit of liquid to cover the top, so I poured about half of the sauce on top of the bread pudding and then placed back in the warm oven to soak up some of the juices. Once I took it out of the oven (about 10 minutes later), I poured the remaining sauce over the top and let it set. Seemed to work out really good. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This was just what I was craving. I did follow others advice and added raisins and cinnamon and extra vanilla flavoring. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
This was a tremendous hit at our house. Substituted light butter and coffee cream, added cinnamon, plumped raisins, and a bit of nutmeg, and omitted the pecans. The big flavor change was that I used amaretto instead of whiskey -- what a delicious sauce that made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frugalux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Average tasting. The sauce had too much whiskey and too much butter. Won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Great recipe! Super easy and fun to make it your own. I omitted the pecans and added chocolate chips to appease my friends who don't believe it's a dessert unless there is chocolate. I'm excited to try a different kind of sauce. Maybe espresso?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
This recipe is good. I would cook the sauce just a bit longer to get the whiskey flavor to subside but overall delicious....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2006
Yummy! Rave reviews from all who tasted it--with some adjustments. I increased the eggs to 3, and increased milk proportionately--may use 4 eggs & more milk next time. I also added 1 t. cinnamon and some raisins. The whiskey sauce was very mild (maybe because I used Jameson?), so I think next time, I'll simmer 1/2 cup to half volume before adding the remaining ingredients. Overall, a good basic recipe that's easy to play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Very good!! I used Wild Turkey for the whiskey in the sauce & it was a bit much, so I will cut back next time or use Makers Mark or Jack. I also added some cinnamon to the milk mixture & it was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stuart, Florida, USA
Living In: Delaware, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
Very easy and smelled wonderful. I cut it in half and it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lutcher, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States