Bread Pudding with Whiskey Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
tried the whiskey sauce. Excellent. I used lighter cream, therefore I think that's why it didn't thicken, but still very tasty. Used this on plum pudding this Christmas. Will use it in the future for bread puddling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Use 4 eggs, and add another 1/2 cup milk. As for the sauce, Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
made this last night - was yummy. I will add raisins nest time and will try replacing the whisky with baileys another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
I have to keep the whiskey sauce under lock and key so the wife doesn't drink it all before we use it!!! ;P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
Great recipe. I read all the reviews then tailored to my tastes. PUDDING: Used 4 eggs, made w heavy cream instead of milk and added water to add for more liquid as noted, and with the last cup of liquid I used 1/2 & 1/2 then scalded to flavor. I beat the eggs separately, so could I could heat cream, butter, sugar. Added cinnamon and vanilla to the cream mix to my taste for the pudding base. Cooled cream mix, then very slowly added beaten eggs. Make sure it's cool enough or you might get cooked eggs! Did not use pecans. Will use raisins or sultanas next time and may plumb overnight with whiskey, water mixture. Once my bread was ready, I used a stock pot allow liquids and dry to mix. Placed bread first, then gently added the warm liquid. Left it to soak about 15 min. Then transferred to baking pan. Oven at 300-325 and baked for 70 min. Just check, when knife comes clean, it's done. SAUCE: I doubled the cream; two TBSP butter, 1tsp cornstarch dissolved in small amt water, use powdered sugar. Cook til thick, then add whiskey and cook 5 min more. Cooks out most of alcohol but very smooth. I'm a lover of bread pudding so my recipe is modified based on what I have loved in other versions eaten
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe and very easy to make. I added cinnamon and nutmeg also substituted the pecans for golden raisins. Will definitely make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightWing

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Just wondering about the poster who said she added raisins and fed it to her dog. Is the dog still alive? Just a few raisins will kill a dog. Be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whitney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Extremely rich. I used rum instead of whiskey. It made a huge dish that I ate for a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
I made the sauce with Amaretto. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States