Bread Pudding with Praline Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Occasional Cooker
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
OMG! I think I have died and gone to heaven eating this fantastic praline bread pudding! It is awesome! And it tastes great either hot or cold. It was so easy to make. I halved the recipe and otherwise followed the recipe except I used walnuts instead of pecans just because that is what I had on hand. Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Occasional Cooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This is VERY sweet -- especially if you're going to add a sweet sauce to top it off. I wish I had followed my instincts and cut the sugar down to 2 cups. I would also mix all the ingredients together before pouring them into the bread -- otherwise you're likely to break down the bread completely .-- so you get mush. I like the crusts also because that helps to keep it from compacting down too much -- just make sure to soak bread long enough to absorb the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I made this recipe for our Christmas dinner. My family ate every crumb! I am rating this recipe AS WRITTEN. I didn't change a thing. This is my first time trying to make bread pudding and it came out great. Thank you for sharing! I have been told I will be making this at every family gathering from now on :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Without a doubt the best bread pudding I have ever made. I did use a loaf of Pepperidge Farm Cinnamon Raisin bread ( exactly 1 pound ) to save a little time. The sauce was perfect. I give this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
I had been looking for a Banana Bread Pudding recipe and made a couple of alterations to this recipe. I reduced the vanilla extract to 2 tsps and added 2 tsps of banana extract. Instread of raisins I added to 2 cups of sliced banana which I had tossed with a little lemon juice. It worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This bread pudding is the best. I beat my my mothers recipe with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharris
Home Town: Parma, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Absolutely amazing. Use whatever bread you have- French, boule etc. I cut some of the harder top off - but would be fine to leave crust on. Make sure you toast pecans. I made ahead and stored in frig until my dinner party. I think key is to cook in rectangular pan as recommended- and don't overcook. I served with fresh whipped cream with vanilla extract mixed in AND ice cream on other side. I wish I had saved some pecans to garnish the top- or pan caramelized pecans for the top. Maybe that would have been too over the top- lol. Major hit of a dinner party. I think would easily serve 8-12 people+. I wish I had taken a photo! Ps- I plumped the raisins in a tablespoon of hot water with vanilla extract- zapped in microwave on very low a minute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMB IN NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
Phenomenal exactly as written. I didn't change a thing. We ate it warm the night I baked it, and cold the following night. Both were absolutely delicious. Thank you for a solid recipe that is easy and scrumptous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pacific Grove, California, USA
Living In: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Very good recipe. Use a very big mixing bowl. In addition to cinnamon i added 1 teaspoon ginger, 1 teaspoon allspice, and 1 teaspoon nutmeg. I had a small bad of praline pecans that i rough chopped and added to sauce. All said and done this is one awesome recipe! Even better after it sits and settles!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: West Jefferson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
This without a doubt is the best bread pudding I have ever had. I used a loaf of wheat french bread as well as omitting one cup of the milk and adding heavy cream. Makes it just a little richer as well as a better match for the pecans. Dianne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States