Bread Pudding in the Slow Cooker Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I made it exactly as it says. Isn't sweet at all. I serve with ice cream and whip cream to help the salty flavor and it work. Next time I'll use brown sugar and more cinnamon...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
A little bland, but this is a basic bread pudding. It works well in the slow cooker, and you can easily adjust. I meant to grease the cooker and forgot. Oops. If you make it, try to remember to grease it. It really helps. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I knew I had to try this recipe, but I also knew I would make a few changes right off the bat. I used 1/2 cup brown sugar in place of the white sugar, I added 1/2 teaspoon of cinnamon and a dash of nutmeg, and I upped the vanilla extract to 1 teaspoon. So, so good!!! I did use the raisins (a must for me in bread pudding!), but because this was going to be a dessert for us, I soaked the raisins in rum for about 1/2 hour before adding to the crock pot (SO good!). But next time I might also throw in some chopped apples just for variety. Anyway, this is a great recipe (that I tweaked to my personal preference, but I bet it is also great as written). Oh, and I also sprayed my crock pot with butter flavored non-stick spray prior to adding ingredients and cleanup was a breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
This was wonderful. The taste was great and the fixing it was easy. I did use apples instead of raisins as I don't care for raisings. My BH put some eggnog on his. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
This turned out rather tastless and not very sweet. Bread cubes on the top didn't become part of the pudding. Definetly needs more liquid ingredients. I will take the recipe and play with it. I think it's a good foundation but I wouldn't serve it to my guests as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I made this recipe about a month ago and I used wheat bread instead of white. I also used golden raisins instead of the regular ones. My bread pudding tasted more like a healthy version of bread pudding instead of something more dessert-ish. Those who want a warm or cold breakfast with a more rustic and earthy appeal, try what I did. I should write this recipe out since it is different. Forgive me. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I used raisin bread -maybe that was what ruined it. It was really not good at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
WOW! This turned out great! I used a 4 Qt. crockpot and increased the servings to 8. I did toast my bread(a whole loaf of Pep. farm naturals honey oat). I added about 1/4 cup of brown sugar and 2 Tbsp. of real maple syrup. I also switched the nutmeg to cinnamon, just because of personal preferance. I also served additional maple syrup on the side. I didn't need it as I felt is was sweet enough, but others added a bit. I can't wait to make this again, and again, and again!!! Next time I will spray the sides of the crockpot with cooking spray, especially if I plan to keep it on warm for any period of time. Thanks for this awesome, and super easy recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aggie
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
This was so easy and quick to make. I used panetone and added some dehydrated blueberries. I butter the crockpot pan which made it easy to take out. Oone more thing.... I used a spoon tp press the bread down to make sure all the egg mix was soaked up. Love this and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This is by far one of the best bread pudding recipes I have tried. I didn't have raisins but didn't miss them in this version of a southern favorite. I like things like this on the sweeter side so I added 3/4 cups of sugar. The bread I used was what I had on hand and it was Pepperidge Farm Honey Wheat. It came out fantastic and it is very easy and problem free to make. I only wish I doubled the recipe.. It was fantastic.. Thank You for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cottontown, Tennessee, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States