Bread Pudding III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
My family loved this. It was very easy to prepare. I mixed the milk with all the other ingredients (other than the bread, raisins, and eggs) in a pot on the stove. I did not boil the ingredients, just heated them thoroughly. I poured the liquid over the bread cubes and then poured the beaten eggs over that, added the raisins, and tossed it all together. Avoid stirring too much, you want to have a chunky, yet soggy mixture. If you stir too much you will get gruel. I omitted one egg, added extra butter, extra sugar (brown and white), and extra cinnamon. I also added pecans. I cooked it 10 minutes longer than recipe, and served it with rum sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
This one was great too.I cooked in a water bath to stabilize the temp and served with Vermont Maple syrup to give that old New England touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rudy Hawes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rutland, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
This bread pudding is EXCELLENT! I really liked it because it wasn't too sweet but just sweet enough! the only thing I did was bake it about 15 mins longer than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
My husband loved this recipe. It's his favorite so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I thought this was really good. I added 2 apples, peeled and diced. I used challah bread. I also pressed the bread mixture down a bit once it was in the pan with the liquid to help it soak up the yummy goodness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I used splenda instead of sugsr so my mother-in-law could enjoy it also. We all love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Excellent! Instead of "10 slices of bread", I had a loaf that was about equal to that. Also, I used crasins instead of raisins. The baking time was 10min more than the recipe stated. I recommend drizzling honey, maple syrup or a little icing on top just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I have made so many bread puddings, many from allrecipes, trying to find the perfect one. I've always been dissapointed...until this one! So delicious, exactly what bread pudding should be! I think the technique is key, tossing the bread with butter. And so important to let it sit and soak, at least 20 minutes. We enjoyed it warm, but it was even better cold the next day. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittymom82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Yummy, easy recipe! I think it's important to know what type of bread is being used because it definitely makes a difference. I used plain old sliced white sandwich bread (the cheapest grocery store brand available). I loved this bread pudding & received rave reviews, even by a couple of people who have never had bread pudding before! It was a little eggy, so next time I may cut 1 egg out and a little bit of the milk & see how that goes. I even added 3 slices of bread. Other changes: I used a 9x13/3q glass baking dish, thanks to review recommendations. (I have NO idea how anyone could use the recommended dish size and not have it spill over.) I sprayed the baking dish with nonstick spray and used 1/2c white sugar & 1/2c brown sugar and added chopped pecans. Per other reviews, I let it sit for about 10 mins before baking to soak in. Tastes great the next few days as well! Great recipe, I'm looking forward to experimenting with different kinds of breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Added nuts instead of raisins, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States