Bread Pudding III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This was very good. The only thing I did was to add a brandy hard sauce when it was done and a dollop of whipped cream. The brandy sauce was store bought but boy did it make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brie Hoffman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
This recipe is DELICIOUS! All I do differently is add a little more cinnamon, a little more sugar, and I add walnuts and orange zest too. I cooked it for 8 minutes longer than instructed and once it was done I mixed one cup powdered sugar with the juice of one orange and a teaspoon of vanilla to make a glaze to go over it (this really makes it). My family went crazy for it, it's usually gone by the next day. The first time I made it I used a cinnamon raisin bread and it was great, the second time I used a french bread and it was JUST as good if not better. This recipe is a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Wonderful. Just like my Gramma used to make. I only suggest a bigger bowl to cook it in. a three quart instead of a 2 quart would work out better. Ours was absolutely YUMMY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
10 STARS! When I married my husband gave me his mother's fool-proof recipe. I have made it several times and always got "this does NOT taste like my mom's". I gave up and started looking for something new. I followed the recipe to the letter...almost? ;-) I DID cut the recipe in half for 2 people and used LESS sugar since I made a sauce for it which was the added sweetness. AND I followed the other suggestions and let it sit for half an hour AND did not add the melted butter until just before baking. (I poured it over the top of the pudding) I think that covers it? BUT...bottom line it was GREAT and I am NOT a bread pudding fan but my husband LOVED it and said "this is IT"! I guess that say's it all? THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Yummmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was really, really delicious and so simple to make. I was planning on making a New Orleans bread pudding souffle but got lazy (and too full) on Thanksgiving so instead I snacked on it for a few days after thanksgiving. Especially good with coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Absolutely the yummiest bread pudding recipe I have made. My daughters (19 and 14) LOVED it and this has now become MY bread pudding recipe! I did not change a thing but did let the dish sit before baking for about 30 minutes. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
This recipe is awesome! I did change a couple things - I used skim milk, stevia instead of sugar, dried cranberries instead of raisins, and added lightly toasted and broken-up pecans on top. I let it all soak for 10 minutes and baked it for 35. Oh, my! I've never made bread pudding before, but this came out perfectly and was super-easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Super easy to make. I've never made bread pudding, but my husband wanted something like a local dessert made here. I thought it was a little dryer than I remembered bread pudding, but I think that's because there isn't a sauce. I would make a sauce for it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Cairo, Al-Qahirah, Egypt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This is a great old fashioned bread pudding recipe. I made a few changes to accommodate my tastes, after reading other reviews. I used 5 eggs instead of 6, 1 ½ tsp. cinnamon, no nutmeg, 1 ½ cups of half & half in place of half the milk, soaked raisins in boiling water for 10 minutes, used 12 slices of bread instead of 10, added melted butter to milk mixture, did not heat milk, put in a 9 x 13 pan, soaked for 20 minutes before baking, baked for 40 minutes. I made a whiskey sauce from “bread pudding with whiskey sauce” recipe to put on it. (½ cup white sugar, ½ cup butter, ½ cup heavy cream, ¼ cup whiskey, warm over low heat stirring constantly.) The whiskey sauce and bread pudding were both warm when served and just delicious together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 248) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States