Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
This is such a good, basic recipe. Great served hot with ice cream. I made it with whole wheat bread and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kopcat

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Too sweet! I squeezes two lemon over the top after tasting it. This cut some of the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I eyeballed all the ingredients but pretty much followed the recipe as it was written. The only change was I added a dried out McIntosh apple I had lying around just to get rid of it. This recipe is so freaking easy and delicious. I am DEFINITELY going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I omitted the butter, added an extra egg, plus I used 8 pieces of bread instead of 6, and 2 1/2 cups milk. I substituted the vanilla for 1tsp orange extract & 1 tsp Grand Marier. Then I added 1/2 cup cocoa powder along with everything else in the recipe. I poured that over the bread and then sprinkled 3/4 cup chocolate chips. Wham! Orange chocolate bread pudding! It don't get any better! Loved loved loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi is vegan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Awesome recipe. Exactly what I was craving. Only changes I made were: no raisins, added half TBSP of coconut oil, one cup half&half & one cup milk (instead of two cups milk), pinch of nutmeg, and sprinkled about a TBSP o brown sugar on top before I put it in the oven. Came out glorious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Nice -- but even better if you add things to it, like... - 2 Tbsp grated coconut (unsweetened); - 2/3 cups chopped walnuts; - a good handful of dry raisins (fat, golden ones are best!); - 3 chopped sweet apples. Like others on this board, I have used brown sugar - a little less than what was asked for in the recipe, because of the dry raisins which are already quite sweet. Oh... and I have served it with 6% natural yoghurt! If you have a sweet tooth, you can even top the yoghurt with a little maple syrup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mmktanner
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Very nice, served with Birds Custard! Changes: 1/2 heavy whipping cream, 1/2 milk. 2 teaspoons vanilla & 3 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Debby
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe almost exactly. I just added one small chopped apple, and a bit of nutmeg. Also topped with chopped pecans. I had to bake about 10 minutes longer. Also added a vanilla sauce...yum. I'd save this is a wonderful recipe - made as is with no extras, but easy to add your own touches without affecting the integrity of the recipe. Thanks! This is going in my recipe file! (Oh yeah, my bread was still fresh and soft, so I just toasted it lightly first. Seemed to work well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Goodrich, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
I've made this with stale homemade bread, croissant and baguette (separately, not mixed together). It's delicious every time! I tried it without sultanas but they give a nice texture and add so much to the flavour so I always use them now. I eat it with a drizzle of maple syrup. Just perfect. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was very good.For variety I used chocolate milk
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 2,099) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States