Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Great recipe and moist! My husband doesn't like bread pudding or raisins. I changed it to use diced apples and diced canned peach slices, a tiny bit of cinnamon and brown sugar on top prior and then used only 1/2 c brown sugar instead of white. (I sometimes use a combo of the canned peach juice for almost a cup, add buttermilk for a bit and regular milk. Other times a combo of a half cup buttermilk and the rest 2% milk or half and half cream) It's nice! My husband actually eats this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2015
Excellent even when made exclusively with whole wheat crusts and heels! I have a child who decided to never eat a crust again when he turned four (he's now six). After leaving them on for months and watching the waste, I finally started cutting off the crusts and putting them in the freezer. Now, I regularly use them in this recipe. I love that the heels and crusts my son refuses to touch normally are turned into something he loves! All four of us love it, in fact. And no wasted crusts and heels. When I'm ready to make it, I take the crusts and heels out of the freezer in the morning and let them thaw. In the afternoon, I put them in the oven for a bit. Then I break it up and use it. I try to stick to the recipe as written, but it is very forgiving. I often use three eggs instead of four. I have never used the raisins. Often we pour milk on our portions before eating. It's deliciously sweet and yummy as written. So much so, that I might cut back the sugar to 1/2 cup. Not because it's too sweet but just to experiment with how "healthy" I can make it and still make it lovable. Thank you for an awesome, versatile, simple recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I added an apple also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb Andres

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2015
I made this using homemade sourdough bread and dried cherries. Instant hit with my family, who had never had bread pudding before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kay Kocher

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
very good, super simple and requested by everyone. Definitely a recipe to have on hand anytime you need to make something yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
To be honest, I do not care for bread pudding, that being said..I LOVE THIS RECIPE. Thank you EllenMarie. Mine looks just like the photo, and tastes amazing. I took the advice of others and used 8 slices of bread, and 3 eggs and doubled the rest of the recipe as written. 9x13 pan. Last night we had it for dessert using sugar free vanilla instant pudding for the topping. This morning, our breakfast of scrambled eggs, bread pudding with sugar free syrup, will be delightful. Never would have believed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
I really like this recipe since it is easy and tasty, though I did make few tweaks. I used: ~ 9 slices of raisin bread ~ 3 1/2 tablespoons butter, melted ~ 3 eggs, beaten ~ 2 cups milk ~ 3/4 cup brown sugar ~ 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon ~ 1 teaspoon vanilla extract I also put it in the oven for 35 minutes. It came out golden and with a perfect consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carol H.
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Fabulous recipe! I'm glad I read all the reviews first because six slices of bread would not have been enough. I used a baguette that had dried out in its paper bag and became as hard as a rock and let the pieces soak for a good while in the milk/egg mix. In the meantime, made a preparation of butter, brown sugar, slices of granny smith apples and chopped walnuts and put it all on the base of the dutch oven pan before placing the bread pudding recipe on top (I added a pinch of nutmeg to the recipe). Baked 45 minutes at 350. End result? Heaven. It's sooooooo good! And next time, will make sure to have whipping cream on hand so it can be served with that. I called this variation "Upside Down Apple Bread Pudding".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Great recipe! I used bread that was dried out and crusty (trader joe's rustic loaves and ciabata). I altered a bit by soaking the extremely hard bread in milk. I also doubled the recipe and used a 9x13 dish to bake in. It was my first time making bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
Just made this pudding with out the raisins and it was so nice. It taste just like a ciniman donut!! Yummo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arapeta Kingi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 2,240) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States