Bread Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
VERY GOOD!! My entire family LOVED it!! Everyone was eating seconds. I used cinnamon raisin bread and regular bread. I also added a little more raisins, nutmeg and cinnamon. Also 1/2 eggnog and 1/2 milk. I used this simple recipe for vanilla sauce... Serve this vanilla sauce with bread pudding or any other dessert. INGREDIENTS: 1/2 cup sugar 1 tablespoon cornstarch 1 cup boiling water 2 tablespoons butter 1 teaspoon vanilla extract dash salt PREPARATION: In small saucepan combine sugar and cornstarch. Stir in 1 cup boiling water. Simmer, stirring constantly, for 5 minutes. Stir in 2 tablespoons butter, vanilla extract and salt; blend well. Thank you for such a great addition to my Christmas dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conneaut, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2001
The taste was almost just like 'Momma' use to make it. I find I had to decrease the amount of sugar to 1/2 the the recipe amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2001
I tried this recipe again for Christmas. I used half eggnog and half milk. Really wish I could say how good it was, but I didn't get any. Family scarfed it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2000
MAKE THIS RECIPE! I used egg nog (made with evaporated milk, cinnamon and nutmeg... among other things) and the bread pudding tasted just like my mum's. PLEASE make this, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This has the consistency of yorkshire pudding and is not sweet at all. I should have known it would have no taste since the recipe didn't call for any spices such as cinnamon or cloves or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Very nice. I omitted the raisins and added a couple of tablespoons of leftover Solo Poppy seed filling from cookie baking, a diced apple, I used half brown sugar and half white and half a tsp of orange extract as well as a pinch of salt. Very easy recipe with little cleanup. Bread pudding is allways so versitile and it's a great use for the bread i'm allways baking. If you butter the pan and sprinkle it with a little sugar, it makes for a great crispy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
My family LOVED this recipe. I substituted cinnamon raisin bread for the bread and eggnog for the milk. I also topped it with a brandied caramel syrup for a yummy holiday dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2001
This is a good basic bread pudding recipe. It is a tad too sweet for my taste so I cut the sugar by 1/2 cup. No raisins for me either. The preparation is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was super Easy, and everyone loved it!!! I might have to make this weekly at my office, no one could get enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngsville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
My family raved over this recipie this Thanksgiving! I did substitute the eggnog for the milk, which added a really nice flavor -- it didn't require any additional spice. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 105) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States