Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
My family really loved this recipe. I did not have cinnamon so I used nutmeg. I am trying the original recipe and will write a review on that later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda's choice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
I halved the recipe and used a square dish. I found the result a bit eggy... I suggest soaking it longer than five minutes, and next time I will use a water bath as some had suggested. I did add raisin, craisins, 1 chopped apple and some chopped peacans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Hell yeah! This was yummy! I just got through making this. My changes: I used half milk and half heavy cream (and forgot to warm it), 6 medium eggs, 1 cup of sugar, and used a water bath. I did soak the raisins in warm whiskey prior to adding them in. I also made a whiskey sauce of 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/2 cup honey whiskey, 1/2 heavy cream, 1/4 cup of corn syrup, 1/4 tsp salt and cornstarch to thicken. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NANSEAB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This was my first time making bread pudding ever. My husband requested it. So, I found this recipe. It was so easy and my husband LOVED IT! I did make some very slight changes. Instead of 3/4 cups of white sugar, I added 1/4 cup of light brown sugar and the rest white sugar. I also baked it 15 minutes longer in the oven. I think next time, I going to soak my raisins in rum or whiskey and add some fruit like bananas and pears to see how it turns out. But this is a keeper! UPDATE:Today, I made this again and added 1 banana, 1 pear, and 1 apple (slice and peeled of course). And I added butterscotch chips and golden raisins. DELICIOUS! I made it for Father's day and my father, step-father, and step-mother loved it! This time I only used light brown sugar and I baked it for 1 hour. This recipe is definitely a keeper...it's so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I have tried numerous Bread Pudding recipes but found this one super easy and perfect every time. I searched for a rum sauce recipe that was like my mother in laws but finally found that my husband prefers warm cooked vanilla pudding drizzled on top and you could add a dash of rum extract if you like. Worth a try if you like old fashioned bread pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Catonsville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Halethorpe, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
Wonderful! I used whole wheat bread and brown sugar instead of white bread and white sugar. Along with peach ice cream -- it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
I have made this twice. I used skim milk since that is what we drink in our home. Other than that followed the recipe exactly the first time. I did it in a water bath and baked 45 minutes. My husband and I really enjoyed it but decided it could use more cinnamon. My little boy hates raisins so the next time I used peeled apples and doubled the cinnamon. I did not precook the apples but they only turned out a little crunchy. The next time I may use the apples again but add some nuts and either whole milk or half milk and half cream. My son is home for spring break so it is a good time to try anything new. The only trouble I have is keeping the fruit from falling to the bottom. Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonitoot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
this recipe was not only easy but totally delicious! i followed advice from other reviews and set it in the oven in a water bath. worked great! just be sure to keep an eye on the cooking type. the first time i made it, it took 1 hr to completely cook. the next time i made it, it took about 45 min. i dont know why but either way it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dr Garret
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Great recipe! I was really craving some good bread pudding and this hit the spot big time. I made a double batch in a 13x9 and it turned out amazing. I added more cinnamon but should have added even more. I just sprinkle it with cinnamon sugar while I am eating it. The kids love it. If you make a double batch, you will need to cook it for over an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr Garret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Bread pudding is a great way to add cheap nutrition to your meals. Your imagination is your only limitation. Last night I made bread pudding with thinly sliced very ripe bananas and chocolate chips. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA
Living In: Gordonsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 344) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States