Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is a great basic recipe! Great flavor! Next time, I'm going to use day old French bread instead of Texas toast that I used. I will also use one less egg and a little less milk to see if it helps. I like my bread to be less mushy, i like it almost chewy. I also baked the casserole dish in a water bath which could have led to the mush. I did make a brandy sauce using a 1/2 cup cream, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 brandy. It was amazing!!! Great compliment to it. Ill definitely use this again with a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Pleasantly surprised! I made a few changes: 1. I used stale, week old home-made whole wheat rolls instead of white bread slices (worked great!) 2. Used brown sugar instead of white. 3. Used chopped granny smith apples instead of raisins. 4. I didn't have any nutmeg. I learned a few things: 1. Using apples gives you a break from all that sugar and gives you a sense of freshness. I sauteed the apples in butter first, which I won't do next time, because I think it cooked out too much of the tartness. I ended up adding some fresh, raw apples to each plate which gave it that sweet/tart balance I was looking for. It actually was DELICIOUS with the fresh granny smith apples. 2. Bread pudding is a lot like french toast! So we pulled out the left overs and had it for breakfast this morning. My 4 kids and hubby loved it! 3. The maple syrup or powdered sugar topping is what really makes this dish. We generously used powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kit Gonzales
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I loved this. but i did something a lil' different. I had 2 over ripe bananas, so i added to the egg mixture and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Irene
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
This was really good. My whole family loved it. I've never had bread pudding before, or made it so I didn't know what to expect. I used 5 eggs instead of six, 1 tbsp of cinnamon and I made a vanilla sauce to go on top. I loved the nutmeg and the sort of crunchiness on top. Great recipe. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by izzymae30
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
THIS RECIPE IS FABULOUS. I MAKE IT SEVERAL TIMES A YEAR BEGINNING IN THE FALL. I FOLLOW THE RECIPE BECAUSE IT IS EXCEPTIONAL. AFTER I MADE IT A COUPLE TIMES I DID MAKE ONE ALTERATION. I USE CINNAMON RAISIN SWIRL BREAD. THE TEXTURE OF THE BREAD IS GREAT. I STILL MAKE IT WITH WHITE BREAD IF I DON'T HAVE THE OTHER. I GIVE IT 10 STARS.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzymae30

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
It was Great and gone in 1 DAY!!! lol and I'm a brit and my wife is american. she loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
It was really good. Needed more cinnamon but otherwise wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
This is a great bread pudding base. Like many people I change recipes by what I have on hand or to suit our tastes. I used 16 slices of white bread, using up what I had left that was going stale. I cut down to 5 eggs and used 1 cup brown sugar in place of the white. I also had no raisins so I sprinkled a handful each of coconut, white chocolate chips, dark chocolate chips, and pecans. I poured the milk mixture over the bread and let soak while my oven preheated. I baked for 30 minutes and it came out perfect! I will definitely be keeping this recipe on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I had never made nor eaten bread pudding before so I wasn't sure what to expect. This was good. My husband really liked it. I always make recipes as written the first time, and will make this again, but with some changes to make it a bit more "custardy".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 341) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States