Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
I've been eating bread pudding since I was a young girl. My mom has been making it for years, she hasn't for a while and forgot her own recipe. I looked this up and she tried it with a day old homemade bread, she usually used store bought bread. The bread was perfect!!! She never used nutmeg and we wondered how it would be. It was HEAVENLY!!! We topped it with her own lemon sauce which is how we always had it, and it was perfect. Thank you for such a lovely recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
I use this recipe all the time and love it, and so does everyone else that I fix it for. However, I do cut back on the bread to 8 slices and find that the pudding is more moist and more cutard-like, which we enjoy. The more bread used, the drier the pudding will be. I just make sure that I test the pudding with a clean knife in the center to make sure it is baked long enough (the knife should come out clean when done). I sometimes change the raisins for "craisins", which is also awesome. This last time, instead of raisins, I put in about 3/4 cup of fresh, washed & dried, blueberries - absolute fantastic. This basic recipe is the best, and then just have fun with it and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Excellent! And so easy! I used a loaf of dry hard Artisan bread..sour dough I think. Aprox 4cups. Removed the hard crust. All the eggs, no nutmeg. Baked 375 for 25 min....nowhere near done, not even browned on top. Increased heat to 400 for another 15 min. (maybe my oven is off?) Done! Just like Nanna's. Even better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I used 9 bun slices, only 2C milk & omitted the raisins. I also drizzled the top w/ honey for the last 5 minutes of baking. AMAZING recipe & what a great way to use up bread that would otherwise go to waste. Always a hit w/ friends, coworkers, and family. Added bonus: your house will smell delicious all day! Thank-you for this great recipe. Yum :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrauLara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I love this recipe. I hadn't made bread pudding since 2007. Yesterday I decided to make some. I found this recipe which is really simple and went with it. However I did add my own little twist. Instead of using all Vanilla. I did half Vanilla and half Brandy flavoring. Turned out Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this for my son-in-law, who is constantly on the lookout for the perfect bread pudding. He took one bite and happily proclaimed that "this is it!" I followed the recipe as written except I took the shortcut of using cinnamon raisin bread (the entire loaf), and cooking for an additional 10 minutes since the middle wasn't quite done after 35 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I had a gallon of milk just turning, an abundance of farm fresh eggs, a loaf of stale sour dough French bread because the bag ripped and decided to make bread pudding. DH has never had it before so I told him it tastes like French bread and he salivated. I used Splenda instead of sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp rum flavoring for more of an eggnog taste, 1/4 cup raisins, 1/3 cup chopped dried apples and was generous with the cinnamon. I baked it in a glass, deep dish pie plate for 55 minutes until it tested done. Serve with pure maple syrup. Puffs up beautifully and will make again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by hdotwills
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I loved it! I received great praise and "5 stars" from my family so that's how I rated it here. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this for my family in Bend Oregon and they loved it. Texture is like custard..Now making it back home in Vegas for me and my hubby! It's like a party in your mouth lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valeriebelle
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
great!! fixed this in my bread machine because i have a habit of burning everything!! lol took 2 hours on the bake cycle but came out super moist and delis!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valeriebelle
Home Town: Richmond, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States