Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2014
One of the easiest and yummiest recipe available online! Trust me when I say easy because this was the first time I baked anything in my life. The only change i made was to add 1 1/2cups of cream and 1/2cup of milk. I cant stop looking at it! Thanks a ton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GEM
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed this recipe. I did however, alter the recipe slightly (I shouldn't have). I added chopped apple. FAIL. LOL Stick to the recipe - you'll enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
Nice -- but even better if you add things to it, like... - 2 Tbsp grated coconut (unsweetened); - 2/3 cups chopped walnuts; - a good handful of dry raisins (fat, golden ones are best!); - 3 chopped sweet apples. Like others on this board, I have used brown sugar - a little less than what was asked for in the recipe, because of the dry raisins which are already quite sweet. Oh... and I have served it with 6% natural yoghurt! If you have a sweet tooth, you can even top the yoghurt with a little maple syrup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
Crashed and burned! Not sure what I did wrong...Maybe I shouldn't have used a round 2qt baking dish, maybe the "hot milk" wasn't hot enough. In any event, after an hour, it still wasn't done in the center and the top was burned. What constitutes "hot milk" anyway?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I made this today and it was fabulous I used a loaf of very stale wheat French bread. I was concerned because the bread was so hard it was difficult to cut into chunks. I made the following adjustments. 1. 5 eggs in lieu of 6 as reviewers suggested. 2. 2 cups fat free evaporated milk and 1 cup water. 3. Splenda in lieu of sugar 4. Semi sweet chocolate chips instead of raisins. I made a caramel bourbon sauce to serve over it. Because the bread was so hard I let it sit for about 15 minutes before baking. It was perfect! I like dense bread pudding and this was just to my liking. Will definitely make again. Next time I may add a bit more Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pearl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Douglasville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
The best Bread Pudding I have ever tasted and indeed made. I always get great reviews when I make this. I have to make sure I serve myself otherwise it will be devoured before I get a chance to taste it. It works out perfect every time. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Excellent recipe. I did make some changes. I reduced the milk by 1/2 cup. I also added 1/2 tsp cinamon to the eggs. Baked for 10 minutes longer (since I don't like wet bread pudding) Came out wonderful. This is my go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Oh my gosh, this is so good! I always read a bunch of reviews to see what the consensus is on "tweeking" recipe, and this was no exception. I used baguette bread (after cutting up let it sit for the morning to dry out a bit). Left out raisins (we don't care for them). Used 1/2 tsp cinnamon & 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, 5 instead of 6 eggs, used 1/2 c. brown sugar (I was out of white), and only 1/4 tsp of salt. Baked it in a 2 qt baking dish set in a larger water filled baking dish. That's how my Mom used to do it. Baked for 45 minutes. Topped with an easy-to-make butter sauce: Place in small sauce pan the following: 6 T. butter (melted), 1/2 c. brown sugar, 1/4 c. milk (I used 2%....cream would be yummy!) and 3/4 tsp vanilla. Whisk till heated up and slightly thickened. Pour over bread pudding. Yum....what else can I say!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJH1951

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed this recipe to the T!!! I didn't and would not change anything about it. It is a tasty dessert that is quick to make! I love the texture, it's the perfect combo! Not too creamy and thick enough to hold when slicing. The amount of sugar, cinnamon and raisins I think was perfect for the taste......just the right amount of sweet! I have made this 3 times during this Christmas holiday because it is just that easy to make. Everyone loved it and couldn't believe I baked it, they were impressed (I'm hardly the baker in the family). If they only knew how easy it was. I'm so happy I found this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I made this recipe and it was delicious! I'm making it for Thanksgiving. It's easy and I ate most of it myself, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 337) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States