Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
YUUUMMMMYYY! I took in all the reviews and this is what I came up with. I started off with 12 pieces country white bread and cut off the crusts(I tend not to like the crust) then cubed and mixed with melted butter and 11/2tbsp cinnamon and a pinch of nutmeg for better flavor. I skipped the raisins because I didn't want in my dish but you could add diced apples as well.(if you do add raisins I would soak for 8min in boiling water or apples in the melted butter to soften) For the milk I did- 1 1/2 cup milk and 1 1/2 cup heavy cream for a richer flavor. I followed the rest and I did use a 2quart baking dish but I rested it in a 13X9 inch dish filled 1/3 with warm water to bake (read it makes a a little more custard like opposed to mushy). I baked for like 40-45 minutes to let the top get that little crunch. Out of the oven I ate a third-it was so good! the rest of the family finished it off. Will have to make again real soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
435 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
This bread pudding *really is* a winner! I had never made bread pudding before but spent time reading all the many reviews and revised the recipe accordingly. I cut the crusts off 12 slices white bread and then cut each slice into 16 squares. I used butter instead of margarine, which I melted and blended with the liquid ingredients rather than the dry bread cubes. I softened the raisins by briefly soaking them in boiling water (about 10 min.) I tossed the bread and raisins together with 1 TABLESPOON ground cinnamon (could probably have used 2 tablespoons, even!)I topped the pudding with 3 pinches of nutmeg, also as suggested. The 6 eggs were just fine to use, next time I may use 1/2 milk and 1/2 light cream and maybe a tablespoon of rum or cognac. Baking temperature of 375 degrees F was OK but as I used a 2 quart Pyrex casserole dish measuring 9" top diameter, 7" bottom diameter and 3" deep and set the casserole dish into a 9" x 13" x 2" metal baking pan filled with water, baking time was more like an hour to an hour and a half. Nevertheless, my very BRITISH boyfriend nearly shrieked with delight when he arrived home to find this bread pudding in the works. However, according to him, this would be classified as Bread & Butter Pudding. Who cares? He snarfed it down au naturel without any embellishments and was licking his eyebrows afterwards. Mission Accomplished!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This is a really good, basic bread pudding and pure comfort food. I tend to like my bread pudding more custard-like, rather than squishy, like this one. However, if you like your bread puddings custardy, like me, just bake this one in a water bath for a super yummy treat on a cold night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
239 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This has a great flavor. I should have read the reviews and used one less egg, as this bread pudding was too "custardy" for me. But the rest of the family loved it. I used 3 1/2 cups of cubed baguette, which is more dense than some white breads and makes a firmer pudding. I will make it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2003
Delicious!!!!!! When it's just coming out of the oven you may wonder why it's so fluffy but don't be alarmed- it collapses a bit as it cools off. My husband ate the ENTIRE dish in 2 days! And he wonders why he is too fluffy? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOI_LOUIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
Great recipe! This is a classic dessert that is so easy and so good! I used on full cup of raisins and instead of mixing the cinnamon in with the bread, I added it to the egg mixture (1 Tbsp.) Along with the eggs and salt, I used 1 cup of sugar, 1 Tbsp. of vanilla, 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg, 1 cup of light cream and 2 cups of half and half. This baked up beautifully and I served it topped with "Bourbon Whipped Cream" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2002
I had a baguette (possibly whole-wheat, from Panera) that was getting hard, and I thought bread pudding would be the perfect way to take care of it. Because I wasn't using white bread that came in slices, I couldn't follow the recipe exactly. I cut the bread into slices and then cubes, giving me maybe 3 cups (I have no idea, just guessing). I did the rest basically by eye, though I did use exactly 3 cups of milk and 5 eggs (reviewers said 6 was a bit much). When I tipped the dish after 25 mins, liquid still escaped, so I baked it for an extra 10 minutes. It tastes very good! I've never made bread pudding before, and this was super-easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
Ohhh YUMMMMMMY. A total hit with my family. I made it with fresh baked bread. I made the mistake of topping the prebaked mixture with extra raisins before popping into the oven. Don't do that. The ones on top got too cooked. But that was my own fault. Lesson Learned. :) Anyway, WOW! As great as I had hoped and anticipated, a fantastic, cozy treat on an Autumn morn. Could not get much easier than this. I can't wait to teach my kids to make this. PERFECT! EASY!!!!! Make this for your family and they will forever love you. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Outstanding! Not too eggy, not too dry. This was really tasty stuff. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. The leftovers make a great breakfast (although, not too healthy). Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Taken to a company pot-luck for something "different". Turned out SUPERB! Many, many compliments on the wonderful texture and taste. I used 5 med eggs, and plain ole' white sandwich bread. Easy and delicious. Added to the family holiday menu for certain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States