Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
uber fantastic! making it again tonight with apples in it. i can't wait to try it with coconut like another user posted. i think i have had that before and i remember it being so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
good. I added chopped walnuts and sprinkled a tiny bit of brown sugar on the top then baked....hot with a scoop of vanilla...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
So simple and easy. I loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just made this recipe and took a bite...a winner for us and will make it more. I had half a loaf of European sliced French bread so used that since we eat mostly wheat bread. It was perfect, worth 5 stars any day. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a wonderful base recipe for bread pudding. I've made it a couple times and have some tips that might be helpful: First, you can make this in an 8x8 glass baking pan, it's just the right size. Secondly, to know if you have enough bread, the cubes should completely fill the dish, level with it on top (if it's a small specialty loaf you might need 12 slices). When you pour in the egg mixture the bread will absorb it and fill the dish perfectly. Also, I just mixed the spices into the eggs rather than tossing and sprinkling (I used pumpkin pie spice blend), and I used butter rather than margarine and wayyyy less salt; half a teaspoon would be quite salty to my taste. And lastly, I tried this once with raisins that I soaked in a couple tablespoons of rum for an hour, and once using about half a panettone instead of bread (and omitted the raisins), and both batches were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I would say this was a good recipe but definitely not great. When I rate I try to make the recipe exactly as written. The cooking time was way off for me, 25-30 minutes the product was still wetter than I like so I ended up baking 45 minutes. This was more like a french toast type dish than bread pudding. I plumped the raisins beforehand as I like the softer texture. The sweetness level was okay to my taste but did get one comment it was not sweet enough(a sugar nut). After the first taste I did make a butterscotch like sauce and everybody agreed that was a nice addition(was how my grandmother served bread pudding). It was way to eggy for me and maybe those who cut back by one egg would have a better result(I HATE eggs). I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is not Bread pudding, it is BREAD & BUTTER pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is a great basic recipe! Great flavor! Next time, I'm going to use day old French bread instead of Texas toast that I used. I will also use one less egg and a little less milk to see if it helps. I like my bread to be less mushy, i like it almost chewy. I also baked the casserole dish in a water bath which could have led to the mush. I did make a brandy sauce using a 1/2 cup cream, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 brandy. It was amazing!!! Great compliment to it. Ill definitely use this again with a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Pleasantly surprised! I made a few changes: 1. I used stale, week old home-made whole wheat rolls instead of white bread slices (worked great!) 2. Used brown sugar instead of white. 3. Used chopped granny smith apples instead of raisins. 4. I didn't have any nutmeg. I learned a few things: 1. Using apples gives you a break from all that sugar and gives you a sense of freshness. I sauteed the apples in butter first, which I won't do next time, because I think it cooked out too much of the tartness. I ended up adding some fresh, raw apples to each plate which gave it that sweet/tart balance I was looking for. It actually was DELICIOUS with the fresh granny smith apples. 2. Bread pudding is a lot like french toast! So we pulled out the left overs and had it for breakfast this morning. My 4 kids and hubby loved it! 3. The maple syrup or powdered sugar topping is what really makes this dish. We generously used powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I loved this. but i did something a lil' different. I had 2 over ripe bananas, so i added to the egg mixture and it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States