Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was great! Used brioche heart bread my husband bought me for valentines day. Followed tips and added butter sautéed apple but due to diabetic needs of my husband used brown sugar Splenda, skim milk, but shaved fresh nutmeg and cinnamon and tossed w the bread cubes. Did the water bath and cut the recipe in half for the 2 of us. Just wonderful!!!! Unbelievably good. shot the diet by serving with a dollop of fresh real whipped cream. Sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Comfort food with a big C!!! The bread pudding recipe my grandparents and mother made when I was much, much younger! But, we don't add the melted butter. I call it my "best French toast." I cook up a batch of this bread pudding and freeze in individual portions. When I want something sweet for breakfast I warm it in the microwave, add a little maple syrup, and I have a fuss-free "better than French toast" breakfast. My family used to serve it in a bowl with just a bit of milk - cold if the pudding was hot and warm if the pudding was cold - no microwaves back then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
uber fantastic! making it again tonight with apples in it. i can't wait to try it with coconut like another user posted. i think i have had that before and i remember it being so so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
good. I added chopped walnuts and sprinkled a tiny bit of brown sugar on the top then baked....hot with a scoop of vanilla...yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: White City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
So simple and easy. I loved it..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Just made this recipe and took a bite...a winner for us and will make it more. I had half a loaf of European sliced French bread so used that since we eat mostly wheat bread. It was perfect, worth 5 stars any day. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is a wonderful base recipe for bread pudding. I've made it a couple times and have some tips that might be helpful: First, you can make this in an 8x8 glass baking pan, it's just the right size. Secondly, to know if you have enough bread, the cubes should completely fill the dish, level with it on top (if it's a small specialty loaf you might need 12 slices). When you pour in the egg mixture the bread will absorb it and fill the dish perfectly. Also, I just mixed the spices into the eggs rather than tossing and sprinkling (I used pumpkin pie spice blend), and I used butter rather than margarine and wayyyy less salt; half a teaspoon would be quite salty to my taste. And lastly, I tried this once with raisins that I soaked in a couple tablespoons of rum for an hour, and once using about half a panettone instead of bread (and omitted the raisins), and both batches were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I would say this was a good recipe but definitely not great. When I rate I try to make the recipe exactly as written. The cooking time was way off for me, 25-30 minutes the product was still wetter than I like so I ended up baking 45 minutes. This was more like a french toast type dish than bread pudding. I plumped the raisins beforehand as I like the softer texture. The sweetness level was okay to my taste but did get one comment it was not sweet enough(a sugar nut). After the first taste I did make a butterscotch like sauce and everybody agreed that was a nice addition(was how my grandmother served bread pudding). It was way to eggy for me and maybe those who cut back by one egg would have a better result(I HATE eggs). I won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is not Bread pudding, it is BREAD & BUTTER pudding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
This recipe is a great basic recipe! Great flavor! Next time, I'm going to use day old French bread instead of Texas toast that I used. I will also use one less egg and a little less milk to see if it helps. I like my bread to be less mushy, i like it almost chewy. I also baked the casserole dish in a water bath which could have led to the mush. I did make a brandy sauce using a 1/2 cup cream, 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/4 brandy. It was amazing!!! Great compliment to it. Ill definitely use this again with a few minor changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 340) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States