Bread Pudding I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Excellent! And so easy! I used a loaf of dry hard Artisan bread..sour dough I think. Aprox 4cups. Removed the hard crust. All the eggs, no nutmeg. Baked 375 for 25 min....nowhere near done, not even browned on top. Increased heat to 400 for another 15 min. (maybe my oven is off?) Done! Just like Nanna's. Even better cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela MacDonald

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I used 9 bun slices, only 2C milk & omitted the raisins. I also drizzled the top w/ honey for the last 5 minutes of baking. AMAZING recipe & what a great way to use up bread that would otherwise go to waste. Always a hit w/ friends, coworkers, and family. Added bonus: your house will smell delicious all day! Thank-you for this great recipe. Yum :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrauLara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2013
I love this recipe. I hadn't made bread pudding since 2007. Yesterday I decided to make some. I found this recipe which is really simple and went with it. However I did add my own little twist. Instead of using all Vanilla. I did half Vanilla and half Brandy flavoring. Turned out Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made this for my son-in-law, who is constantly on the lookout for the perfect bread pudding. He took one bite and happily proclaimed that "this is it!" I followed the recipe as written except I took the shortcut of using cinnamon raisin bread (the entire loaf), and cooking for an additional 10 minutes since the middle wasn't quite done after 35 minutes. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Fischer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I had a gallon of milk just turning, an abundance of farm fresh eggs, a loaf of stale sour dough French bread because the bag ripped and decided to make bread pudding. DH has never had it before so I told him it tastes like French bread and he salivated. I used Splenda instead of sugar, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1 tsp rum flavoring for more of an eggnog taste, 1/4 cup raisins, 1/3 cup chopped dried apples and was generous with the cinnamon. I baked it in a glass, deep dish pie plate for 55 minutes until it tested done. Serve with pure maple syrup. Puffs up beautifully and will make again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foxy Felix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buckley, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Photo by hdotwills
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic recipe. I loved it! I received great praise and "5 stars" from my family so that's how I rated it here. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this for my family in Bend Oregon and they loved it. Texture is like custard..Now making it back home in Vegas for me and my hubby! It's like a party in your mouth lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie Belle
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
great!! fixed this in my bread machine because i have a habit of burning everything!! lol took 2 hours on the bake cycle but came out super moist and delis!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Belle
Home Town: Richmond, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was great! Used brioche heart bread my husband bought me for valentines day. Followed tips and added butter sautéed apple but due to diabetic needs of my husband used brown sugar Splenda, skim milk, but shaved fresh nutmeg and cinnamon and tossed w the bread cubes. Did the water bath and cut the recipe in half for the 2 of us. Just wonderful!!!! Unbelievably good. shot the diet by serving with a dollop of fresh real whipped cream. Sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Comfort food with a big C!!! The bread pudding recipe my grandparents and mother made when I was much, much younger! But, we don't add the melted butter. I call it my "best French toast." I cook up a batch of this bread pudding and freeze in individual portions. When I want something sweet for breakfast I warm it in the microwave, add a little maple syrup, and I have a fuss-free "better than French toast" breakfast. My family used to serve it in a bowl with just a bit of milk - cold if the pudding was hot and warm if the pudding was cold - no microwaves back then!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States