Bread of Life Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
It just came out from the oven perfectly fine!!!! Here are the changes that I've made: ->I halve the recipe(which doesn't really matter), I left out the anise, AND I started off with proofing the yeast using the first 1/4cup water(lukewarm) together with 1/4teaspoon of the 1/4cup sugar for 5-10 minutes. Then added this yeast mixture into the remaining 1cup water. STIRRED WELL. Then added the flour mixture (flour, b.s, b.p, sugar, AND a pinch of salt) into the yeast mixture a little at a time, stirring, until just the right consistency for kneading (till the dough doesn't stick to your fingers). Kneaded for 15 minutes (using hand), and let it rise for 1st time about an hour (or doubled in size) and lightly punched down, reshaped a little, and rise 2nd time for 45-60 min (or doubled in size). It only took 30minutes to bake in a 400F oven. By the way, I think the baking soda gives it a slight odd flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
In my searches for a simple, 100% whole wheat bread, this recipe fit the bill. I left out the anise for a plain, hearty bread that makes great toast. Do let it rise a second time before baking, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Benicia, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jess D.
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Taking the other reviews into account, I allowed the bread to rise a second time and it only cooked 30 minutes on 375. The second loaf was done in a round pan and turned out better. I thought it would rise a little more but it tastes good and I can use it for sandwiches. I used oats instead of anise seed, and my 18 mos. old son likes it. Check out my picture I submitted. Thanks! Have a great day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
From now on I will read the reviews. This recipie is almost worthless. The dough is hard to work with,and I would change the recipe to halve the yeast and anise, and drop the cooking temp to 350 after 10 minutes, and take the loaves out after 30 minutes. I'm not sure how the ratings given add up to the 4 stars I see displayed beside this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2004
I didn't check the reviews before I made this and therefore did exactly what the recipe called for, until I realized that it did not say to let it raise a second time in the pan. I quickly checked the reviews and said, oops, maybe I should have read these before I started. It seems that the only way this bread is good is if you change the entire recipe. There are a lot of low fat wheat bread recipes out there that you don't need to be a chef to figure out how to make it tast good. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
I ended up changing a lot about this recipe, and it still didn't taste that great. I used 4 cups wheat and 2 cups white flour, and cut the amount of anise seed to 2 tablespoons from 1/4 cup, as it's an expensive and strong spice. It still was too much anise and overpowers the taste of the wheat. Don't try this recipe, it's a waste of flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2001
I follow recipes EXACTLY as written. Unfortunately this one didn't say to oil the pans. It also didn't say to let the dough rise a second time before placing in the oven, which I didn't. Mine came out over cooked (just about burned, and I cooked it at a lower temp and shorter time). This brick-hard loaf will go to the dogs. If the recipe was a little more detailed, it might be worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2000
Light and moist. Rises well. Be careful not to spread too much of the egg whites in step 2. (Crust became very hard) Tried it w/o seed; substitute Walnuts and Anise Extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Amish White Bread

See how to make delicious oven-baked sandwich bread.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States