Bread Maker Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
I have made these 4 times now. They are wonderful! The first time I made them I followed the directions exactly but they didn't rise at all. I didn't think they would because of the salt and yeast touching.. But I didn't want to change anything without trying it first. Since that first time I have mixed the salt into the flour then followed everything else as written in the recipe and they have turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Really hit the spot! I melted the butter and added the wet ingredients first ( following my bread machine's instructions). Everyone loved them and the second batch is mixing now. This recipe is a keeper. Thank you for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Nasseri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
My first attempt at doughnuts - baked or fried - and my second time to use our deep fryer in about a decade. That being said, I thought the finished product was a little heavy, but this could have been part of me trying to rise the doughnuts in a slightly warm oven with a cup of water inside. However, once the glaze was on, my crew took the doughnuts down quickly. I did double the recipe since I did not see how many the recipe made (16) until a little late. To cut my holes, I used a tea kettle whistle. In my Presto Fry Daddy, three minutes would have burnt the doughnuts as another reviewer stated. I found 30 seconds on each side was about right. I also fried the remaining holes, using my metal slotted spoons to keep the bundle under the oil most of the time for a more even finish. I made a chocolate glaze using the chocolate frosting recipe on the side of the Hershey's Cocoa box, adding more milk for a glaze consistency. I halved the recipe, but it could easily be quartered if you are making a single recipe. Even with a double recipe of doughnuts, I still have glaze left over. For the "plain" doughnuts and holes, I made a basic glaze of 4 tbsps butter, ~3/4 cup powdered sugar, and ~2tbsps fat free milk. My kids and husband enjoyed these, and the oldest child (5) thinks we should open a doughnut shop. We made this as part of our homeschool curriculum after reading the doughnut story in Robert McCloskey's "Homer Price."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I melted butter, added plenty of sugar and a little vanilla. After taking the donuts from the pan they got a good coating of this glazing. Recipe worked first time, great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
These turned out fantastic. The kids loved them. I will have to make more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I lost my famous bread maker donut recipe and this one was the closest one to what I remembered. Substituted half the butter for extra milk. (Why have extra fat, right?) The dough was supple, pliable and was perfect with 1 tsp vanilla bean paste added. Very flavorful dough because of the extra salt and sugar. My company responded with "You should sell your donuts, Jen."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was my first foray into sweet yeast dough and from what I read after the fact, sugar retards the growth of yeast. So next time, I will just add one tablespoon or so of sugar and maybe up the yeast a bit. As written they were very dense and I let them rise a couple of hours. Good flavor dough though, just a little technicality to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky Purvis Waters

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I give these 4 stars for ease and taste. Very easy to make, not much mess and the possibilities are endless as far as toppings go. It's a basic donut that u can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
it good I like it ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiannaLove1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
The doughnuts did not rise at all, the dough ball was just sitting in the bottom of the pan. I cut them and fried them up anyways, they were edible but really dense. I would not make this recipe again. I tried again (another recipe) and used a yeast mixture with warm water, as well as scalding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieFl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States