Bread Maker Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
I melted butter, added plenty of sugar and a little vanilla. After taking the donuts from the pan they got a good coating of this glazing. Recipe worked first time, great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
These turned out fantastic. The kids loved them. I will have to make more soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
I lost my famous bread maker donut recipe and this one was the closest one to what I remembered. Substituted half the butter for extra milk. (Why have extra fat, right?) The dough was supple, pliable and was perfect with 1 tsp vanilla bean paste added. Very flavorful dough because of the extra salt and sugar. My company responded with "You should sell your donuts, Jen."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jena-licous

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
This was my first foray into sweet yeast dough and from what I read after the fact, sugar retards the growth of yeast. So next time, I will just add one tablespoon or so of sugar and maybe up the yeast a bit. As written they were very dense and I let them rise a couple of hours. Good flavor dough though, just a little technicality to fix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicxstar

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I give these 4 stars for ease and taste. Very easy to make, not much mess and the possibilities are endless as far as toppings go. It's a basic donut that u can play with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
it good I like it ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiannaLove1

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
The doughnuts did not rise at all, the dough ball was just sitting in the bottom of the pan. I cut them and fried them up anyways, they were edible but really dense. I would not make this recipe again. I tried again (another recipe) and used a yeast mixture with warm water, as well as scalding the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieFl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
this is easily the worst recipe I have ever found on this site. I made them exactly as the recipe said and the result was absolutely inedible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I relied on other reviews for "tips" before making this recipe, and it turned out like doughnuts from my favorite doughnut shop - Great! Others' tips that I used were (1) melt butter, combine it with warm milk, sugar & egg & make sure it is "warm" - Placed it in a cup in a bowl of hot tap water. (2) Made glaze with 2 Cups powdered sugar + 1/4 cup milk + 1 tsp vanilla extract. My bread machine takes 1-1/2 hour for the dough cycle, so total time was about 3 hours. End of wooden spoon also works great for removing from oil and handling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Whipped these up this morning...excellent recipe and very easy. They don't rise a lot after cutting, but will "rise" in the grease. For those of you who had doughnuts that were too dark, your grease was probably too hot. Keep your grease at a low temp, flip the doughnuts when they rise to the top, let them brown, then they are done.We did put a glaze on them, but my 8-year old loved them plain as well. Will make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jcbish

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States