Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
this bread is absolutely wonderful!! I added a bit of cinnamon with the cardamon & used brown sugar instead of pearl. it was AMAZING!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Thank you so much for a smaller (1 loaf instead of 3) and quick version of my great-great-aunt's "Vetebrod" (umlout omitted, as I don't know how to type it )! To keep the temperature consistant for the dough to rise, I've found that if you turn on the oven to 400 degrees for 1 minute, then turn it off and put the bread in immediately (covered with a clean, lint free cloth) and allow it to sit for 1 hour. It keeps the temp more consistant in my draftly kitchen. :) I think the crust was a little tougher than normal this way (but still good) and I had to add a little flour during the knead cycle to keep it from sticking to the sides of the bread machine. If you can't find pearl sugar, regular granulated works well. A quick heads up for anyone who has not purchased Cardamom before - it's expensive and can be difficult to find. Only one local store here (it's a small town) carries it ground (Spice Islands) at $11.99 for a jar. Keep in mind that ground loses it's potency once opened, so keep the jar TIGHTLY closed for it's next use. Thanks again for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Finally...an easy to use recipe that makes a cardamom braid just like my mother used to make. I'm just baking my sixth one for Xmas treats for my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
Fabulous, wonderful, just like grandma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Giving it a 5 because the recipe itself is perfect. I don't think I'm a huge cardamom fan, though, so the flavor isn't all that pleasing to me. The texture/bread is perfect though; I might replace some (or all) of the cardamom with cinnamon next time. (I also used brown sugar on top and it came out great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
My family is swedish so we were having a swedish dinner party at our house. We needed a swedish bread, and this was perfect. So yummy and so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Delicious! This should be called "7 minute bread" as it was gobbled up in about that much time by 3 adults. I've never cooked with cardamom before, and after my husband's first bite, he said, "whoa, too much nutmeg," but after a few more bites, he couldn't stop eating it. My in-laws did not like the spice flavor, and I'll substitute cinnimon when I make it again (today, by request). Dough was easy to work with. BTW, my friend sells a bread similar to this in her bakery for $8/braid - it is really popular and flies off the shelves even at that price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I've been looking for a cardamom bread recipe for a while and thought this was going to be it. I'm not sure what happened, but this is not what I was expecting. I found 3 tsp of cardamom to be way too strong (there's a reason most other recipes call for 1/2 - 1 tsp) for this small loaf and the pearl sugar is too coarse for a topping. I'm a fan of spice but it was just overpowering and not at all like a bread, but more of a dense, spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This bread made the house smell awesome! I added dates and served the bread as a breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This bread is super easy to make and really tasty! If you don't like cardamom, however, this obviously isn't a bread for you. Pearl sugar is exactly what the topping should be, so use it if you can find it (you can also use pearl sugar for making "chouquettes", which are essentially cream puffs with no filling.) I like to add a drop of orange oil or orange zest for a bit of extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States