Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Hester
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I've used this recipe two Christmas's in a row now, and it's consistently yummy. Texture is soft but not gooey. This is *cardamom* bread, so it tastes distinctly of cardamom. I didn't find pearl sugar so I used 'Sugar in the Raw', turbinado sugar, which has large crystals. It gave the crust a glittery look and a nice crunch. The bread bakes up a dark mahogany brown, not golden like the picture (maybe it's the sugar). I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My Swedish mother in law approves of this recipe so that in itself says a lot! Please note that it is important to use fresh cardamom -NOT a bottle that has been in your spice rack for a while. The second time I made the recipe I used the same cardamon I had used the previous Christmas and it was not as flavorful. I went out and bought a new bottle at a gourmet spice shop and it was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
For flavor, I give this 5 stars, but for it actually turned out, I'd give it 4, but I gave it 5 because I think it was my error more than anything. Not as light and fluffy as I would like. The bread ended up being more dense. I don't think I gave it enough time to rise though. I don't really make bread, so an estimated rising time for this recipe would have been nice. I also overcooked it a bit so the bottom and top were hard and very brown. My errors. May take less time than stated. I think this is the perfect amount of cardamom. You need to like the taste to really enjoy this bread! I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon on top of the cardamom since I enjoy those flavors together. As for the pearl sugar. That is very Swedish and does go with the bread. You can find it decently priced at Ikea in their food market. I also love cardamom bread with just granulated sugar on top, granulated sugar and cinnamon together or a light icing made with powdered sugar, milk, a little butter and almond extract. Sprinkle shaved almonds on top. Mmmmm... Now that is a treat! So if you don't have pearl sugar on hand, one of those toppings will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I have tried to make cardamom bread (we call it tsoureki in Greece) with the bread machine before, but all my efforts ended in failure. This one turned out to be great. The bread rose and its texture was so soft. I do believe though that 3 teaspoons of cardamom are too much. I used half the quantity and next time I’ll use even less. I also increased baking time to forty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I really liked the cardamom, it has a very fresh smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Great! I doubled everything except the cardamom (did 3 rounded tsp)so I'd have one to keep and one to give. The loaves were gorgeous and it smelled like a bakery in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a very simple recipe that turned out well for me. I used brown sugar instead of pearl sugar since I was unable to find any at the store. Next time, I think I would increase the amount of cardamom because I really like the flavor of it. I plan to use some of this bread to make french toast with and I bet it will be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMGRAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is the most wonderful cardamom bread recipe I have ever tried. Whoever said it was too much cardamom, must not have really been looking for a cardamom bread recipe, because this is perfect...and so pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This bread is super easy to make and really tasty! If you don't like cardamom, however, this obviously isn't a bread for you. Pearl sugar is exactly what the topping should be, so use it if you can find it (you can also use pearl sugar for making "chouquettes", which are essentially cream puffs with no filling.) I like to add a drop of orange oil or orange zest for a bit of extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This bread made the house smell awesome! I added dates and served the bread as a breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States