Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I really liked the cardamom, it has a very fresh smell.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARITYBOO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Great! I doubled everything except the cardamom (did 3 rounded tsp)so I'd have one to keep and one to give. The loaves were gorgeous and it smelled like a bakery in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Buffalo, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
This was a very simple recipe that turned out well for me. I used brown sugar instead of pearl sugar since I was unable to find any at the store. Next time, I think I would increase the amount of cardamom because I really like the flavor of it. I plan to use some of this bread to make french toast with and I bet it will be yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMGRAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pawcatuck, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is the most wonderful cardamom bread recipe I have ever tried. Whoever said it was too much cardamom, must not have really been looking for a cardamom bread recipe, because this is perfect...and so pretty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
This bread is super easy to make and really tasty! If you don't like cardamom, however, this obviously isn't a bread for you. Pearl sugar is exactly what the topping should be, so use it if you can find it (you can also use pearl sugar for making "chouquettes", which are essentially cream puffs with no filling.) I like to add a drop of orange oil or orange zest for a bit of extra oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
This bread made the house smell awesome! I added dates and served the bread as a breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle74

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
I've been looking for a cardamom bread recipe for a while and thought this was going to be it. I'm not sure what happened, but this is not what I was expecting. I found 3 tsp of cardamom to be way too strong (there's a reason most other recipes call for 1/2 - 1 tsp) for this small loaf and the pearl sugar is too coarse for a topping. I'm a fan of spice but it was just overpowering and not at all like a bread, but more of a dense, spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
Delicious! This should be called "7 minute bread" as it was gobbled up in about that much time by 3 adults. I've never cooked with cardamom before, and after my husband's first bite, he said, "whoa, too much nutmeg," but after a few more bites, he couldn't stop eating it. My in-laws did not like the spice flavor, and I'll substitute cinnimon when I make it again (today, by request). Dough was easy to work with. BTW, my friend sells a bread similar to this in her bakery for $8/braid - it is really popular and flies off the shelves even at that price.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Photo by ashleynicole
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
My family is swedish so we were having a swedish dinner party at our house. We needed a swedish bread, and this was perfect. So yummy and so pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleynicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
Giving it a 5 because the recipe itself is perfect. I don't think I'm a huge cardamom fan, though, so the flavor isn't all that pleasing to me. The texture/bread is perfect though; I might replace some (or all) of the cardamom with cinnamon next time. (I also used brown sugar on top and it came out great.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States