Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I just made this bread and it is really wonderful. I had to let the loaf rise for about 2 hours to double in size and while the loaf is nice and light, it did not get very "poofy". Also, I only added 2 Tbs of cardamom, but I will add 3 Tbs next time! I topped the loaf with an egg wash (included the yolk) and "Sugar in the Raw". The loaf turned out a nice golden color and the raw sugar gave a nice crunch to the loaf. I paired this with a homemade pear ginger preserve...and it was truly scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My dad was from Sweden. His mom, my grandmother, didn't even speak English, only Swedish, and she lived with us my whole life. She made this bread a LOT and I miss it! This recipe was perfect. Note to other reviewers: it is CARDAMOM bread. It is supposed to taste like cardamom! Also pearl sugar is the traditional topping. You don't mess with tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very close to the Finnish version :) We call it Bulaa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This tasted just like my friend from Finland would make. I followed the other reader's comments about the cardamom and only added 2 tsp, but I think I will put close to 3 tsp in next time. It was wonderful and so easy to make. I didn't have pearl sugar, so just used regular sugar on top. Loved it, brings back good memories with my friend who no longer lives close to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksarasara
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I don't have a bread machine any longer, so I started by activating the yeast with the milk, very warmed, and then added the wet ingredients, then the dry. It came out great! Don't worry if your dough strands are uneven when braiding- you won't notice after it rises and bakes! Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Not quite as good as my Grandma's, but very close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hester
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I've used this recipe two Christmas's in a row now, and it's consistently yummy. Texture is soft but not gooey. This is *cardamom* bread, so it tastes distinctly of cardamom. I didn't find pearl sugar so I used 'Sugar in the Raw', turbinado sugar, which has large crystals. It gave the crust a glittery look and a nice crunch. The bread bakes up a dark mahogany brown, not golden like the picture (maybe it's the sugar). I recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
My Swedish mother in law approves of this recipe so that in itself says a lot! Please note that it is important to use fresh cardamom -NOT a bottle that has been in your spice rack for a while. The second time I made the recipe I used the same cardamon I had used the previous Christmas and it was not as flavorful. I went out and bought a new bottle at a gourmet spice shop and it was WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
For flavor, I give this 5 stars, but for it actually turned out, I'd give it 4, but I gave it 5 because I think it was my error more than anything. Not as light and fluffy as I would like. The bread ended up being more dense. I don't think I gave it enough time to rise though. I don't really make bread, so an estimated rising time for this recipe would have been nice. I also overcooked it a bit so the bottom and top were hard and very brown. My errors. May take less time than stated. I think this is the perfect amount of cardamom. You need to like the taste to really enjoy this bread! I added about a teaspoon of cinnamon on top of the cardamom since I enjoy those flavors together. As for the pearl sugar. That is very Swedish and does go with the bread. You can find it decently priced at Ikea in their food market. I also love cardamom bread with just granulated sugar on top, granulated sugar and cinnamon together or a light icing made with powdered sugar, milk, a little butter and almond extract. Sprinkle shaved almonds on top. Mmmmm... Now that is a treat! So if you don't have pearl sugar on hand, one of those toppings will work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
I have tried to make cardamom bread (we call it tsoureki in Greece) with the bread machine before, but all my efforts ended in failure. This one turned out to be great. The bread rose and its texture was so soft. I do believe though that 3 teaspoons of cardamom are too much. I used half the quantity and next time I’ll use even less. I also increased baking time to forty minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by constantina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Xanthi, East Macedonia And Thrace, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States