Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love, love, love! I misplaced my original recipe that I cut out of the Chicago Tribune about 15 yrs ago. Thank goodness I found this version - I loved being able to put everything in the bread machine and only having to do the braiding and second rising. I also didn't have ground cardamon on hand but had 6 - 8 cardamon pods which I ground fresh. It yielded about 1 tsp vs the 3 tsp the recipe called for but it was very potent thanks to the fresh grinding; the cardamon flavor came through loud and clear. The old recipe also made 3 loaves so it's nice to be able to just make one at a time with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Loved it just the way is reads. My mom who is part Swedish and grow up eat her moms bread said "It is just like mom made".. Big hit at Easter dinner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Portland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I followed the recipe, including the 3 tsp of cardamom, and I am loving the result. I have no idea whether this is authentic, but it is delicious, and this is good enough for me. I used brown sugar and milk on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
If you like cardamom, try to find cardamom seeds and grind your own. So much more flavor than the pre ground. Try Asian food stores if your grocer doesn't have them. Thanks for the recipe for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
fantastic recipe. followed all directions, however i left the loaf to rise for about an hour after the dough cycle had finished. i only used 1 tsp of cardamon and added 2 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Easy and delicious--added a bit more cardamom and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGREENE359

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My Norwegian grandma used to make julekage for the holidays. She would sneak in an extra loaf that didn't have the dried fruit, so it was "cardamom bread". It makes the best toast for breakfast! No jam, just hot buttered toast to go with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe as written but baked it in my machine using the sweet bread cycle. My husband and I had the most delicious toast (I put a little honey on it) this morning. Tomorrow we will try french toast. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Delicious!! Tastes just like the recipe from my husband's Gma, without all the work. :) Even though this only makes one loaf, this is the recipe I'm using from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Awesome! don't reduce the cardamom, 1 tbsp is perfect. I didn't brush with egg white and pearl sugar, left plain and brushed with butter when removed from the oven for a soft crust, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States