Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Easy and delicious--added a bit more cardamom and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGREENE359

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
My Norwegian grandma used to make julekage for the holidays. She would sneak in an extra loaf that didn't have the dried fruit, so it was "cardamom bread". It makes the best toast for breakfast! No jam, just hot buttered toast to go with the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I followed the recipe as written but baked it in my machine using the sweet bread cycle. My husband and I had the most delicious toast (I put a little honey on it) this morning. Tomorrow we will try french toast. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Delicious!! Tastes just like the recipe from my husband's Gma, without all the work. :) Even though this only makes one loaf, this is the recipe I'm using from now on. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Awesome! don't reduce the cardamom, 1 tbsp is perfect. I didn't brush with egg white and pearl sugar, left plain and brushed with butter when removed from the oven for a soft crust, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This recipe has made people mad at me because they cannot stop eating it until it's gone. It is a sure crowd pleaser and also makes a great gift. I had my kids make it for their grandmother and we mailed it cross country. It was a very special gift. It is hard to find any thing like this at the stores
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this bread several times over the holidays and it always turned out great. I made the first loaf following the recipe exactly and I think, if you're not Swedish or not used to the flavor of cardamom, it might be a little overpowering. I couldn't decide if I liked it, but others in my family loved or hated it. Weird... Anyway, it's a dependable recipe and I used cinnamon in the other loaves. Very, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe turned out excellently! Last time I've had Cardamom Coffee cake this good, it had come straight from the oven at Swedish Bakery in Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
So Easy...perfect cardamom flavoring...do delicious. Served with lingonberry preserves. Didn't have pearl sugar...used white sugar...couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Excellent! Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States