Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
made this for a meeting with the women and everyone wanted the recipe thanks for making me feel like a pro..... anytime we have a huge get together with alot of people I make these and they always disappear.... never any left over's
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNEH2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Yum! I just bought a jar of ground cardamom for the first time and decided to try this recipe as my first experiment with the spice. I didn't have any sugar in the house, so I used Sweetleaf Sugar Leaf which is a mix of cane sugar and Sweet Leaf Stevia. I used just a little over 1/4 cup to substitute for the 1/3 cup sugar. I also added about 1/8 teaspoon to 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon. When the dough came out of the bread machine it seemed a bit dry, although it could have been my fault since I forgot to check it during the initial 10 minutes in the machine to see if I should have added more milk. I wet my hands just a tad as I rolled out the three dough ropes to add a little bit of moisture. I let it rise for about an hour on top of my stove as the oven preheated. Seemed to take a while to rise since the dough was so dense. Brushed it with half of the egg wash half way into the rise and then brushed it again with the egg wash at the end of the rise. Sprinkled more of the Sweetleaf stevia/cane sugar on top before baking in the oven. Bread looked beautiful as it baked, but took about 15 minutes longer than specified in the recipe to cook fully. In the end the bread turned out marvelously delicious despite all of my worries. My kids even liked it. Looking forward to eating a slice in the morning with my coffee! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Walz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made this several times for company. Always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Since I don't have a bread machine, I warmed the milk before adding the yeast to it. I then used my KitchenAid mixer to complete the process of mixing and kneading. After about 10 minutes I had a beautiful smooth ball of dough. The dough was very easy to work with; it makes a gorgeous loaf of bread that slices and toasts easily. I used the suggestion of another reviewer and put the loaf in a previously warmed oven to rise. Heat oven for one minute at 400 degrees, then turn off. Immediately place loaf in oven until double in size. So happy to be adding this recipe to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANGELFROMHEAVEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Love, love, love! I misplaced my original recipe that I cut out of the Chicago Tribune about 15 yrs ago. Thank goodness I found this version - I loved being able to put everything in the bread machine and only having to do the braiding and second rising. I also didn't have ground cardamon on hand but had 6 - 8 cardamon pods which I ground fresh. It yielded about 1 tsp vs the 3 tsp the recipe called for but it was very potent thanks to the fresh grinding; the cardamon flavor came through loud and clear. The old recipe also made 3 loaves so it's nice to be able to just make one at a time with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Loved it just the way is reads. My mom who is part Swedish and grow up eat her moms bread said "It is just like mom made".. Big hit at Easter dinner..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Branford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Portland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I followed the recipe, including the 3 tsp of cardamom, and I am loving the result. I have no idea whether this is authentic, but it is delicious, and this is good enough for me. I used brown sugar and milk on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
If you like cardamom, try to find cardamom seeds and grind your own. So much more flavor than the pre ground. Try Asian food stores if your grocer doesn't have them. Thanks for the recipe for the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
fantastic recipe. followed all directions, however i left the loaf to rise for about an hour after the dough cycle had finished. i only used 1 tsp of cardamon and added 2 tsp of cinnamon and 1 tsp of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Easy and delicious--added a bit more cardamom and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NGREENE359

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States