Bread Machine Swedish Coffee Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I made this bread several times over the holidays and it always turned out great. I made the first loaf following the recipe exactly and I think, if you're not Swedish or not used to the flavor of cardamom, it might be a little overpowering. I couldn't decide if I liked it, but others in my family loved or hated it. Weird... Anyway, it's a dependable recipe and I used cinnamon in the other loaves. Very, very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara H

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This recipe turned out excellently! Last time I've had Cardamom Coffee cake this good, it had come straight from the oven at Swedish Bakery in Chicago.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
So Easy...perfect cardamom flavoring...do delicious. Served with lingonberry preserves. Didn't have pearl sugar...used white sugar...couldn't tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Val Rick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Excellent! Just what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I din't have Cardamom and it was so expensive I used cinnamon instead. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
I just made this bread and it is really wonderful. I had to let the loaf rise for about 2 hours to double in size and while the loaf is nice and light, it did not get very "poofy". Also, I only added 2 Tbs of cardamom, but I will add 3 Tbs next time! I topped the loaf with an egg wash (included the yolk) and "Sugar in the Raw". The loaf turned out a nice golden color and the raw sugar gave a nice crunch to the loaf. I paired this with a homemade pear ginger preserve...and it was truly scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My dad was from Sweden. His mom, my grandmother, didn't even speak English, only Swedish, and she lived with us my whole life. She made this bread a LOT and I miss it! This recipe was perfect. Note to other reviewers: it is CARDAMOM bread. It is supposed to taste like cardamom! Also pearl sugar is the traditional topping. You don't mess with tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
Very close to the Finnish version :) We call it Bulaa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This tasted just like my friend from Finland would make. I followed the other reader's comments about the cardamom and only added 2 tsp, but I think I will put close to 3 tsp in next time. It was wonderful and so easy to make. I didn't have pearl sugar, so just used regular sugar on top. Loved it, brings back good memories with my friend who no longer lives close to us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ksarasara
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I don't have a bread machine any longer, so I started by activating the yeast with the milk, very warmed, and then added the wet ingredients, then the dry. It came out great! Don't worry if your dough strands are uneven when braiding- you won't notice after it rises and bakes! Just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksarasara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

The Amazing Bread Machine

Use your bread machine to make delicious cinnamon rolls and more!

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States