Bread Machine Sugar-Free Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Excellent bread and very healthy for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owosso, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
Very basic ingredients so it was easy to make. It was very tasty & I will surely make this again! However, instead of using all-purpose flour I used bread flour. Also, one 1/4-oz package of active dry yeast converts to 2-1/4 tsp. active dry yeast if you use yeast from a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
Ok, this bread does not rise well, but it doesn't matter because the bread was delicious and it was perfect and uniform throughout in height, perfect for easy slicing and to use for sandwhich bread. What I do is mix my sugar and yeast in the beginning with the liquids and let it sit for awhile 'til it's frothy. In this case it was the milk and the yeast in the beginning(you could add the water to the milk and heat 'til about 105 degrees), then flour(which bread flour would be better, or you could add some baking powder), then salt(salt kills yeast so I add it last). Others complained about it being dry so I upped the oil (I used olive oil) to 1/3 c. This is ok since olive oil is a very healthy type of fat and it's beneficial as it balances out the simple carbs. My bread had the most wonderful texture and it was so moist and delicious that I ate it plain. I tweaked the recipe some as to avoid the problems others experienced. I'm glad I did since I needed a dietetic bread recipe for my father in law. I'm going to use it for myself as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N. Twedell

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
This bread is AWESOME. I used the recommendation that someone gave and went with more wheat than regular flour on the the third loaf but both versions came out great. I did get a nice rise on all three attempts although on the third loaf there was some major curling on the top but it looked really cool. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie Fraser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Park Ridge, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Excellent taste and texture. So easy to do and so healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
As good as you'd expect sugar free bread to be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Polk, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2007
Good bread... I modified the recipe - 2 c. wheat flour, 1 1/4 c. all-purpose, the rest stays the same, and add 6 tsp. of gluten. Makes a nice dense loaf with a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
this was ok as i did not have a back up. served it with baked beans. good thing as it needed to have something to make it moist. this not raise much at all. will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Flavor is ok but I cannot get it to rise. Tried twice with increasing yeast the second time with no luck. Still a tiny, pathetic cube. Any suggestions? Anyone getting a fluffy loaf? or at least a non-concrete cube?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I give this a 2 because it was so easy to make and it smelled so good, it tasted only OK (I added 1 T raw honey), but it did not rise well at all--it was nearly impossible to slice because it was so hard and dense. I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chazwaine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States