Bread Machine Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This recipe worked great in my bread machine. I used Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour. The bread was light and smelled wonderful. It had a nice sweet crust. I loved it. I used sunflower oil and brown sugar and it was great. I may try to use applesauce instead of oil the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Came out very yummy and fluffy! I doubled the lecithin, subbed whole spelt for white spelt, and subbed dried coconut milk for dry milk powder. I also took someone's advice and activated the yeast in the water and honey before adding to the bread maker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
When I followed the recipe exactly, it came out a bit dry but much better than other recipes I've tried. Next time I added 1/4 C more water, 2 T butter, and for taste and health benefits I changed the veggie oil to walnut oil. Came out perfect - so tasty and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I make this nearly every week. Couple things I did differently for a better rise: 2 tsp xanthum gum, 1/4 tsp ginger powder, 1/2 tsp salt, and 2 1/4 tsp bread machine yeast. I get a really high rising spelt bread. Just like a regular wheat bread. Sometimes, I omit the honey and just use sugar and put a tablespoon or so of water if it looks dry. Also, I dont use milk powder. :-) Hope this helps someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2001
I made this a coupel of times its easy and tasty very european My fam loves it Thanks a lot for the spelt receipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
SUPER light and fluffy. I added 3 teaspoons Vital Wheat Gluten and increased Lecithin to 1 teaspoon. Additionally, I allowed the yeast to soak in 1 cup of 100 degree water for 10 minutes before beginning the machine... I will be making this recipe again! (It came out perfectly on "Basic" setting for 1 1/2 pound loaf).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hannah
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This bread has the potential to be great. You just have to have the right method. If you are using dry active yeast (as the recipe calls for) you need to add the yeast to the water (which I always heat to 100 degrees) and let it sit 10 minutes before you add the other ingredients. If you don't, most of your yeast will not become active and you will end up with a dense loaf. Also, lecithin is very important when making spelt as it acts similar to gluten and allows the bread to rise. Lastly, I always just use milk and skip the powder. I also usually double the lecithin for a lighter loaf. The bread is great, especially when toasted! Toasting really brings out the wonderful natural flavor of the spelt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
Great bread made with some small tweaks--2 cups spelt flour and 1 cup of bread flour, butter instead of oil, and a teaspoon of gluten. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I tried this recipe and added the gum as suggested. The bread was delicious. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Mirage, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States