Bread Machine Spelt Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by hannah
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This bread has the potential to be great. You just have to have the right method. If you are using dry active yeast (as the recipe calls for) you need to add the yeast to the water (which I always heat to 100 degrees) and let it sit 10 minutes before you add the other ingredients. If you don't, most of your yeast will not become active and you will end up with a dense loaf. Also, lecithin is very important when making spelt as it acts similar to gluten and allows the bread to rise. Lastly, I always just use milk and skip the powder. I also usually double the lecithin for a lighter loaf. The bread is great, especially when toasted! Toasting really brings out the wonderful natural flavor of the spelt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
159 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I tried this recipe and added the gum as suggested. The bread was delicious. My husband even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Mirage, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
my machine bakes 2 1-1 1/2 lb loaves. The bread was beautiful until 40 minutes prior to being done. It overflowed the pans and started to burn on to the elements. I turned it off immediately, thus losing my breads. Any suggestions? I use spelt due to food allergies and was so happy to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
My bread rose up golden and lovely. I did use 1/2 sprouted spelt flour (I use either sprouted or soaked grains for nutritional value) and 1/2 white flour. I added 3 tsp. vital wheat gluten and changed the honey to 1 T. I also watched to make sure it had enough water since spelt can absorb extra water. It smelled wonderful while baking, and I'm so glad to have a recipe for the bread machine that I was able to utilize a sprouted flour. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Spelt does contain gluten and is not suitable for those who are coeliac, however its gluten can be eaten by most who are intolerent to wheat. I use Spelt for all my baking, bread, cakes, cookies etc using any wheat recipe I find! the key is adjusting quanties of liquid added and kneading/mixing times. Keep any kneading to a minimum, after 3-4 mins the gluten will collapse. Add more liquid than the recipe calls for, you want your mixture to be marginally "sloppier" than when using wheat, this will make your end product light and airy. If you treat spelt like wheat in recipes you will end up with a very dense result. (as I found out when I first started)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
281 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2007
When making this recipe, you need to know what to expect from a spelt bread. The result is a very typical European bread that is heavy, dense, can be sliced SUPER thin and served much like soft crackers. It is also, however dense with nutrients and I thought this was a very good recipe for bread! After reading the other reviews, I added an extra teaspoon of xanthan gum to hold it together and keep it moist. This worked out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
292 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
Good Bread Recipe!! I have a lot of experience baking with splet and would like to give a little advise. When making spelt bread it is a good idea to add some Zanthan Gum (about 1 tsp. per cup of spelt) This will help it to rise better. Also keep in mind that spelt doesn't have gluten in it (the reason many people use it) so it will be a more dense bread. Don't be expecting a light fluffy loaf. If you are, find a different grain!! Great Recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
247 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This recipe was great, however I changed it up a bit. I added 1Tbsp. butter(no oil or lecithi; I added 1Tbsp. honey total; I used 2 cups spelt flour, 1/2 C soy flour & 1/2 C bread flour. It turned out with great texture and highth, also very tastey. Good Luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I followed the instructions properly ect, and these came out horrible! However, we had a splet eater come to my house and i needed somthing to make using it. Once again i tryed this recipe and it worked pretty good, and thankfully she liked it. It didnt rise that much though, but i think i will use this is a sweet bread recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I haven' tried this recipe (yet) however adding a tablespoon of Vital Wheat Gluten to any recipe that doesn't have a large amount of actual "Bread Flour" will make the dough rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States