Bread Machine Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2002
These rolls are tasty and foolproof. Letting them rise the longer amount of time results in a softer, fluffier roll. I skipped the eggwash step to minimize the fuss. The rolls turned out delicious. I also tried tossing in about a tsp. of dill, oregano and basil at the beginning, then shaping the rolls a little larger for hamburger buns. Again, the recipe turned out delicious. Note: For bread machine baking, it is IMPERITIVE to measure the flour carefully, by spooning it into a measuring cup and leveling off the top. If you scoop the flour from the bag using the measuring cup itself, the flour compacts and the resulting bread will be dry, dense, or worse.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
399 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
These are wonderful! I have made these several times already, and the only two changes I made are 1. I use butter on the top rather than an egg wash. 2. I make them a little smaller, with up to 18 in a batch. That having been said, these really are wonderful, homemade rolls! Another review mentioned freezing the dough, and I have found that it works well. Here's how: make the dough, then divide it into the rolls, shaped appropriately. Do not let the dough rise, but freeze the pieces on a flat baking sheet. After they are frozen, you may store them in a freezer-appropriate container - I end up with two layers, separated by waxed paper. Freeze, then when it is time to bake a few, take the desired number of rolls, then thaw the dough on full power in the microwave for 50 seconds (this worked well for me, but is more than was recommended by an earlier reviewer). Let them rise in a warm place for at least 40 minutes, then bake them as the recipe says. This is a great way to make just a few rolls, as you need them. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
274 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Absolutely delicious! I was a little leery after reading the reviews about the bread being sweet, so I cut the sugar down by 1/2 tablespoon. I also didn't have any powdered milk, so instead of the water, I heated some skim milk and added it. I found these rolls to be superb, and not sweet at all. I think the criticism that the rolls were heavy can be fixed by letting the rolls rise an additional 15 minutes. Also, you needn't bother with the egg white wash! If you want glossy rolls, just rub a little butter on the tops after they come out of the oven. They will wow your family at dinner, with such little effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Lovely, yeasty rolls. Make only what you will consume in one sitting, as they lose a lot of quality by the next day. Easy to make. Not the absolute best I've ever had, either in texture or taste, but a very good everyday dinner roll. Make them "brown and serve" style by baking them about 15-18 minutes at 250 degrees, removing them before any browning has occurred. Cool completely and freeze. When ready, take out what you need, brush with egg wash, and bake on a cookie sheet in preheated 400 degree oven for 7 minutes, or until nicely browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2006
Outstanding! I followed the recipe as written, but didn't have a pkg. of yeast. FYI - 1 pkg of yeast is equal to 2 1/4 teaspoons!!! These will be a common item on our table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
Thanks for the recipe. These rolls are very easy to make. I wasn't sure how much yeast was in a .25 package as I buy the jars so I used 1 1/2 tsp. They came out great. Can't wait to try them today on a sandwich. Best roll recipe I have tried yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
This is the best roll recipe I have found. With my bread machine, it takes 3 hrs from start to finish from the oven. Also, I use a metal 9 x 13 cake pan and it takes exactly 20 min. I don't use the egg white and water but instead when they come out of the oven, I coat them generously with butter. That makes them nice and soft. Thank you for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Excellent recipe. I divided the dough into clover shapes (three round balls of dough in the same muffin round)and egg washed. They pull apart beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Delicious rolls! These tasted amazing. I will definitely be making these again. The first time I made them, I shaped them into 12 large rolls and they came out looking something like hamburger buns. The second time, I shaped them into 18 smaller rolls. Both times they disappeared fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I'm sorry, but.... I have tried this recipe twice and neither time seemed correct to me. I will echo the 11/29 reviewer's comment that the dough was dense and sweet. This is not a bad recipe; I think it would be great for cinnamon rolls. I'll keep looking for a dinner roll recipe, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 495) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

French Bread Rolls To Die For

See how to make simple French bread dinner rolls from scratch.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States