Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is DELICIOUS!!!! Can't wait to toast it for breakfast tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! This is a must-bake bread. As a side, I didn't have caraway seeds, so I used cumin seeds instead. Probably a slightly different taste, but it was wonderful. I also substituted whole wheat flour for the all purpose called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I consider myself a pretty seasoned bread maker. The only change I made to this recipe was NOT using a bread machine. The end product was very dense (even with the added wheat gluten). If you want a lighter product, I would use less whole wheat and increase the bread flour. I would also reduce the amount of cocoa to about 2 tbsp. I'll probably try this again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Texture was good. I will reduce the caraway seeds and molasses by up to half as I found the caraway too strong and the bread too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good, glad I didnt cook it as long as suggested. Go by your smell when to take it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Turned out great.... flavour and texture both! Didn't have whole wheat flour but used white flour instead and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mancook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very tasty and easy bread to make. 4 stars due to the flatness of the loaf. Used coffee instread of warm water and proofed the yeast prior to putting rest of ingredients in the breadmaker as suggested by another reviewer. Used the dough cycle and then let rise again prior to baking in a 350 oven for 45 minutes. Make sure the pan is well greased/floured as had a hard time getting mine out of a glass pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
No bread machine, made it like regular bread and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The taste of this bread is fine, but it was much heavier than I like my bread. I really like the addition of cocoa and will use that idea in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccahelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miller, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Don't have a bread machine, so I did my best to adapt it to the old-fashioned method: dissolved the molasses in the warm water, sprinkled 1 packet of active dry yeast over the top, and let it bloom for ~10-15 min. Meanwhile, mixed together the dry ingredients (decreased cocoa to just over 2 Tbl, everything else as directed). Stirred some flour into the liquid, then added oil, then stirred/kneaded in remaining flour. Kneaded for ~15 min. Let rise at room temp for several hours, shaped into loaf, then let rise another 1.5 hrs. Baked 30 min at 450 with a pan of water in the oven. Bread was extremely dense and chewy. Not sure if I over-kneaded or added too much flour or something, but did not care for the texture. Taste was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States