Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
WOWZA!! This was some good bread!! Made the dough in the bread machine, then baked in the oven, as I do all my bread!! This will be a repeat for sure!! Thanks Marylyn!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Suzie the Foodie
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was a moist and delicate loaf of pumpernickel bread which tends to be coarse and dry. I found the smell of cocoa a little weird but then realized this is a very creative way to give it that dark colour without using blackened sugar. I love that there are healthy flours used in this bread so I feel less guilty while eating it. The caraway seeds add wonderful rustic flavour. I made croutons of this bread in the shape of bats for my Halloween crouton post. Terrific on my roasted squash soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
This bread is AMAZING. My husband couldn't stop eating it. Use the caraway seeds - I think they make a huge difference. I may have put in more molasses (the jar kind of slipped when I was pouring) but it worked!!! I'll make this one a LOT! And it's so easy. You'd never guess it came from a bread machine (Zoji in this case).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brierpatch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great flavor, great bread, but a little denser than I'd like it. That said, I did not add the vital wheat gluten. Next time I will do that and may also increase the kneading or rising times to try to get a slightly lighter texture. I thought the amount of cocoa and caraway was just right. It is flavorful enough to be pumpernickel (and to blend well with meats or cheeses) but still mild enough that it tastes great with butter and jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
best bread i've made in my bread machine yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I have made this recipe in my Sunbeam breadmaker many times. It is delicious but the loaf always cracks on top. The top portion of the loaf pulls away from the bottom portion. I don't know how to correct this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Delicious bread. I followed the recipe exactly and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Very tasty and moist. I'll be making this over and over again. It did go to the very top of my bread making machine while cooking ( my machine's capacity is a 1.5 lb loaf) so keep an eye on it that the bread does not push open the top while baking. I'm not willing to alter any type or amount of ingredient...it was just too good! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
If you like your pumpernickel sweet, this is for you. But we do not. I tried it as written the first time, and the cocoa and molassas was overpowering. Next time I cut the cocoa dn doubled the caraway, and it was better, but not as good as other pumps I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is DELICIOUS!!!! Can't wait to toast it for breakfast tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States