Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was a very bla recipe! The wheat flour overpowered it and it was grainy. I will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Delicious! The texture was perfect. I left out the caraway and only used 2 Tbsp of cocoa but otherwise followed this recipe to the letter. BTW I am not a fan of pumpernickel. I made this for my husband. He loved it and I have been converted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I LOVE this bread. I'm not a huge fan of bread machines, so I tried this using my Kitchenaid, and it is SO good! Add ingredients in order listed, knead on low with dough hook for 10 minutes. Let rise for 2 hours and double in size. Knead gently for a few minutes, allow to bake in loaf pan 1 1/2 hours, bake at 375 for 28 minutes. PERFECT! Will make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
This bread is the best!!! I live alone and never get through a whole loaf of bread; this time I did! I have a really good bread machine cookbook with over 300 recipes and yours is my favorite. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Awesome! Go buy your corned beef, swiss cheese and sauerkraut. Can we say REUBENS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSANDON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Halifax, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
Pretty good. I used 1 1/2 c bread flour and 1 cup whole wheat flour because that is what I had. I didn't use any wheat gluten or caraway seeds since I didn't have those either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Excellent! I only used two tablespoons cocoa and half honey/half molasses since I did not want as strong flavored pumpernickel. This recipe can be used to make rye bread, too. Just leave out the coca and use honey instead of molasses. I made one recipe of each, cut a third off each loaf and made marbled rye/pumpernickel by flattening the pieces and rolling them up jelly roll style. All three loaves were a big hit at a family dinner - they would not let me bring any home so I had to make another loaf for us to have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I'm kind of new to this. I've been bread machining for 5 months now. I've been looking for a good pumpernickel recipe. I tried 4. One really sucked. 3 others that were OK, but my wife didn't care for them. JACKPOT = This one is wonderful & my wife loved it. Great texture (I used the gluten) & taste. Do use the caraway seeds, they're a nice touch. I made it yesterday morning & it's gone now with only wife & I eating it, couldn't get enough. Went great with my wife's bean soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fredjbuck

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
This was OK, though I thought it was too much molasses flavor. I would decrease that next time. I also decreased the cocoa by half and omitted the gluten because I didn't have any. I subbed flax seed for 1 tablespoon of the oil, too. I don't have a bread machine, so I had to change it up a little to bake it like normal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe, I'm making second loaf in as many days. My husband usually doesn't like bread but eats it out of necessity, but with this bread he is looking for ways to eat it. Well done!! I did leave out the wheat Gluten though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States