Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Great dark bread. Do NOT use the quick cycle on bread machine like another person suggested. Mine was either too moist or not done enough. I use 1/4 cup extra of water to dissolve molasis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missnepa
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This pumpernickel bread machine recipe is so easy and so good, it deserves 5 stars. My bread machine makes a 1.5 lb loaf, and I would say that the recipes ingredients ended up making a bigger loaf, which had just barely skimmed the top of the lid of my machine. I wouldn't scale down the ingredients because it did fit and didn't make a mess, but it does just barely fit in a 1.5 lb loaf pan when finished. I also ran mine on a medium crust, which burned in one small spot but came out delicious anyway. I have a bread slicer to make clean cuts and then I put half of the loaf in the freezer and use the half the loaf for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnepa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Trouble getting this to rise enough? I have the solution for you! I originally made the recipe exactly as written, and then I made it with a few modifications to make it SUPER RISE. In fact, it hit the glass top of my breadmaker and was really light and people loved it. If you want it to SUPER RISE, do this: 1) add the full amount of vital wheat gluten. This is NOT optional! (Need I explain why? Bread rises because yeast releases CO2, but that isn't sufficient--you need protein structure to contain the CO2 and keep it from escaping, and that protein is GLUTEN!) 2) Add 2 tbsp (tablespoons, not teaspoons) of honey 3) Add 2 tbsp (packed) of brown sugar 4) Use Fleishmann's Rapid Rise yeast (NOT active dry yeast). If you follow these 4 additional steps, and the pumpernickel is not light enough for you, I'll eat my hat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
cut the molasses in with honey. about 1/2 & 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mulyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman Wells, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
great recipe, thank-you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This bread is fantastic....used a little less cocoa and replaced one Tbls of the molases with honey....also i always let the bread machine do the work and bake in the oven...truly a delicious bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This tasted NOTHING like a pumpernickel, and even WITH the vital wheat gluten it barely rose. (and my yeast is fine, I checked) I was making this to hollow out and put spinach dip in, unfortunately I am going to have to stop at the store. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Turned into a lump of clay in my bread machine. Barely rose. Crust was hard as rock. My only deviation was to add minced dried onion, and I doubt that made it fail. Maybe with more water... It also said to set it on "Basic." That sounded wrong, so maybe it needs "Wheat."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is NOT a pumpernickel. It tastes noting like a pumpernickel bread. It is an okay wheat bread. I was extremely disappointed and I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Too sweet for me. Next time I'll reduce molasses. It does have great texture, and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Engelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States