Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Turned into a lump of clay in my bread machine. Barely rose. Crust was hard as rock. My only deviation was to add minced dried onion, and I doubt that made it fail. Maybe with more water... It also said to set it on "Basic." That sounded wrong, so maybe it needs "Wheat."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
This is NOT a pumpernickel. It tastes noting like a pumpernickel bread. It is an okay wheat bread. I was extremely disappointed and I will not be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
Too sweet for me. Next time I'll reduce molasses. It does have great texture, and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Engelman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
This was amazing, I added a handful of whole hazelnuts, as the paddle can’t break them up so they remain whole, then when the mixing was over I threw in a few pumpkin seeds so they would scatter the top. A really good recipe. Thank you. I don’t need to buy pumpernickel bread anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
I made in bread maker at dough setting; then baked in oven. Made exactly as recipe stated, minus the optional wheat gluten. The bread turned out wonderful, but I was very disappointed with it toasted (and most of the bread I eat is toasted). I probably won't make again because of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I MADE THIS BREAD TODAY AND MADE IT JUST LIKE THE RECIPE EXCEPT I USED ALL WHOLE WHEAT BREAD FLOUR INSTEAD OF WHITE AND 3.5 TABLESPOONS OF WHEAT GLUTEN. I ALSO TOOK IT OUT OF THE BREAD MACHINE AND PUT IT IN A LOAF PAN. IT IS A BEAUTIFUL LOAF OF BREAD AND REALLY REALLY GOOD TASTING. I WILL DEFINITELY MAKE THIS AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
This didn't turn out as I thought. Didn't suit my taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Fantastic....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
My husband says "Really good, definitely need to keep that recipe around."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hkmop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Had to add additional water for dough to ball up in bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States