Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
I don't know what went wrong. I made this bread exactly as written using the "optional" ingredients. My husband felt it had too much of a "rye" flavor but I think it's the caraway seeds that were too much (and I am a fan of caraway). It's an okay bread...made for decent toast but as a sandwich bread it was disappointing. I really wanted to love it based on all the wonderful reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5THSISTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This bread is amazing. The texture, aroma & color are perfect. For the liquid, I used a combo of potato water (from draining potatoes for mashing) and leftover coffee. After reading "Best Bread Machine Bread" on this site, I tried adding the molasses and yeast to the warm liquid and let the yeast bloom for 10 minutes before adding remaining ingredients. Our first loaf is almost gone. For the second loaf I added 3/4 cup raisins dusted in some of the flour. I put raisins in at beginning of cycle, increased caraway seeds to 2 Tbls. and salt to 2 tsp. and let bread machine do its thing. The texture of the second loaf is even better than the first. My husband, a native New Yorker accustomed to excellent deli bread, gives this bread high praise. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
super yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This is by far the best pumpernickel recipe I've ever made. I halved the recipe portions, and it was the perfect size for a small dip/soup bowl! If you like the hearty, molasses flavor of pumpernickel, you should try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
A Blue Ribbon Winner! I've made myself nuts looking for a good dark bread recipe. I found it!!! However, I did tweak it a tiny bit, I used good strong mocha flavored coffee in place of water and cocoa. I added a full tablespoon of "rye sour" to give it a real deli flavor and a tablespoon of malt powder for a little more rise. This is after making 3 or 4 loaves & decided it was best, entered in the fair and won that blue ribbon!!!!! Note, I only used the bread machine to mix the dough. I baked a free form loaf in the oven. Ummmm good and thank you for sharing your recipe Marilyn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This bread is so good! It's my favorite "dark bread" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
need to increase water by an additional 1/4 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Great taste and texture! I wish it was darker and that it would rise more. I didn't use the gluten, that may have helped. I also had to make it by hand, I don't have a bread maker... that might have made the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorjeanne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bald Knob, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
My husband really enjoyed the recipe and I would make this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
My husband and I really enjoy the taste of this bread. We're going to make this one day with our Reubens. Hmmmm! That should be really good. Thanks for a great tasting and different bread for my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States