Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by hruns
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
I made this bread in my bread maker and I omitted a few ingredients. I did not use wheat gluten or caraway seeds. It was a nice bread because it came out dark and it was tasty as a bread for dinner and also a breakfast bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This is my absolute favorite bread machine recipe! It is great just as the recipe is but I do like it better by replacing the warm water with my morning coffee. It adds a more robust flavor to the bread. I also add a tablespoon of dark chia seeds along with the caraway seeds. The chia is so delicious when the bread is toasted. Really gives it a true toasty flavor. Combine it with American & Provolone cheese...best grilled cheese sandwich ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Absolutely brilliant! Couldn't find caraway seeds so substituted fennel seeds. Added 70g sunflower seeds. It's like liquorice bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
Best rye bread I've ever eaten, bar none! Absolutely phenomenal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Gave it 3 because the flavor was good. Have no idea of what went wrong but my bread machine has been spot on until this recipe. Will read reviews to get some insight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Sweany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
Used some of the suggestions: Reduced flour by 1/2 cup; no caraway or wheat gluton; used special dardk cocoa & decreasted to 2 1/2 T; used 1/2 dark molassas & 1/2 honey; mixed yeast with warm water & molassas mixture. Baked in bread machine and came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
hmmm...don't know what went wrong..but, I followed recipe exactly and it did not turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ani Payne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
Wonderful recipe.Made no changes. Will make again. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My 10 year old made this bread this weekend without the cocoa and caraway seeds and still it came out perfect. The smell, texture and taste, all perfect. Also, my machine doesn't have a basic setting but has a white bread vs. grain/wholewheat setting; as well as a rapid vs normal setting. Obviously she used the grain/wholewheat setting and normal speed for a small/medium loaf 1.5 pounds. She normally would have a little bit of rye bread, but since she made this herself, now this is the only bread she wants to eat :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Familygal
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Did not use caraway or gluten. Used KAF white rye and pumpernickel. Wheat setting, dark. Husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States