Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My 10 year old made this bread this weekend without the cocoa and caraway seeds and still it came out perfect. The smell, texture and taste, all perfect. Also, my machine doesn't have a basic setting but has a white bread vs. grain/wholewheat setting; as well as a rapid vs normal setting. Obviously she used the grain/wholewheat setting and normal speed for a small/medium loaf 1.5 pounds. She normally would have a little bit of rye bread, but since she made this herself, now this is the only bread she wants to eat :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Familygal
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
Did not use caraway or gluten. Used KAF white rye and pumpernickel. Wheat setting, dark. Husband loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Excellent. Put everything but flour in machine with 2 pkgs of yeast and then added flour. Perfect. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Horrible, it was a brick and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose Moltisanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shirley, New York, USA
Living In: Clayton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This bread was wonderful. I made it exactly as the recipe stated, omitting only the gluten. I also stopped my bread machine 15 mins early and the bread came out perfectly. It didn't last long! I cant wait to make some to share with friends and family~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Really delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, didn't use either the gluten or caraway seeds. The loaf is a little squat-looking but tastes wonderful. Will make with both ingredients next time for comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Really yummy - good flavor, and not too strong. I made the dough in the bread machine and then transferred it to a greased loaf pan and baked at 350 for 45 minutes. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Outstanding!! I followed the recommendations of some others and increased the water to 1 1/3 cup, used 2 cups of bread flour and only 1/2 cup of whole wheat, and used the light crust setting. I also reduced the cocoa to 2 tablespoons. I'm also a big believer in using the vital wheat gluten. The result was a very well-risen loaf with a fantastic texture and moistness. I don't see a need to alter a thing on the next loaf from those mentioned above. Can't wait to make a sandwich with some ham, turkey, and cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
So far this is the closest thing to what I call 'real pumpernickel' that I have found for a bread machine. It turned out near perfect, except for being just the slightest bit doughy in the center. I used the basic cycle as suggested, but maybe for my machine the whole wheat cycle would be better. Still a great loaf of bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Perfect! Moist and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS

Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States