Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
First time making pumpernickel bread and it tastes great. I omitted the cocoa and it was fine. Used blackstrap molasses. I gound up the caraway seeds since my husband can't have seeds. Thanks for a keeper. I had to change the serving size so it would fit my bread machine which makes 1# loaves. 2cups flour=1# loaf. 3cups flour=1 1/2# loaf. 4 cups flour = 2# loaf. Determine size of your bread machine pan: 10cups water=1# loaf pan size. 11-13cups water=1 1/2# loaf pan size. >13 cups of water=2# loaf size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Very nice bread. I did not have any bread flour or vital wheat gluten, and used all-purpose flour instead. The loaf was still very nice. Bread flour would probably have made a more dense and chewy loaf, so for comparison, I will make this again with the correct ingredients next time. I also did not bake the loaf in the bread machine. After the dough had risen, I removed it from the machine, shaped it into an oval loaf and let it rise again. I slashed the top a few times and put it in a 350 oven for 45 minutes. It turned out very nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
We love this recipe! I have made it probably five or six times already. From experimentation, I prefer to cut the caraway seeds to 1-1/2 teaspoons, and the cocoa to 2-1/2 tablespoons, and increase the yeast to 3 teaspoons. I found that dissolving the molasses in the warm water helps, too. I prefer using strong blackstrap molasses in this recipe- it gives the bread a more robust flavor. Also, this bread actually turns out better on the quick cycle in my breadmaker than on the whole wheat or multi-grain settings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B. Scott Andrews

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This bread is amazing. The texture, aroma & color are perfect. For the liquid, I used a combo of potato water (from draining potatoes for mashing) and leftover coffee. After reading "Best Bread Machine Bread" on this site, I tried adding the molasses and yeast to the warm liquid and let the yeast bloom for 10 minutes before adding remaining ingredients. Our first loaf is almost gone. For the second loaf I added 3/4 cup raisins dusted in some of the flour. I put raisins in at beginning of cycle, increased caraway seeds to 2 Tbls. and salt to 2 tsp. and let bread machine do its thing. The texture of the second loaf is even better than the first. My husband, a native New Yorker accustomed to excellent deli bread, gives this bread high praise. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pattycake
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I consider myself a pretty seasoned bread maker. The only change I made to this recipe was NOT using a bread machine. The end product was very dense (even with the added wheat gluten). If you want a lighter product, I would use less whole wheat and increase the bread flour. I would also reduce the amount of cocoa to about 2 tbsp. I'll probably try this again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
This is a great pumpernickel bread recipe. It turns out perfect. I follow the recipe exactly, except I don't add caraway seed because I don't like them, and vital wheat gluten, because I never have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was yummy....kind of like Outback's bread. I left out the vital gluten and it was just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2005
This is the best pumpernickel bread recipe and it can be made in the bread machine! I tried this, looking for a quick recipe that didn't require all the work to make it, and my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Lucia Anderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windom, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
Beautiful and delicious, but make sure you leave plenty of time for the bread to rise as it happens very slowly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
A Blue Ribbon Winner! I've made myself nuts looking for a good dark bread recipe. I found it!!! However, I did tweak it a tiny bit, I used good strong mocha flavored coffee in place of water and cocoa. I added a full tablespoon of "rye sour" to give it a real deli flavor and a tablespoon of malt powder for a little more rise. This is after making 3 or 4 loaves & decided it was best, entered in the fair and won that blue ribbon!!!!! Note, I only used the bread machine to mix the dough. I baked a free form loaf in the oven. Ummmm good and thank you for sharing your recipe Marilyn!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ghost Whisperer

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States