Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Turned out great.... flavour and texture both! Didn't have whole wheat flour but used white flour instead and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mancook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very tasty and easy bread to make. 4 stars due to the flatness of the loaf. Used coffee instread of warm water and proofed the yeast prior to putting rest of ingredients in the breadmaker as suggested by another reviewer. Used the dough cycle and then let rise again prior to baking in a 350 oven for 45 minutes. Make sure the pan is well greased/floured as had a hard time getting mine out of a glass pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
No bread machine, made it like regular bread and we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
The taste of this bread is fine, but it was much heavier than I like my bread. I really like the addition of cocoa and will use that idea in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebeccahelen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miller, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Don't have a bread machine, so I did my best to adapt it to the old-fashioned method: dissolved the molasses in the warm water, sprinkled 1 packet of active dry yeast over the top, and let it bloom for ~10-15 min. Meanwhile, mixed together the dry ingredients (decreased cocoa to just over 2 Tbl, everything else as directed). Stirred some flour into the liquid, then added oil, then stirred/kneaded in remaining flour. Kneaded for ~15 min. Let rise at room temp for several hours, shaped into loaf, then let rise another 1.5 hrs. Baked 30 min at 450 with a pan of water in the oven. Bread was extremely dense and chewy. Not sure if I over-kneaded or added too much flour or something, but did not care for the texture. Taste was good, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UDscoobychick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Very good pumpernickel bread. I made the dough in the bread machine then baked rolls and they were absolutely perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjl6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I loved this recipe; better than bakery made. I did not use the caraway seed and I did follow a suggestion to reduce the cocoa to 2T; Served it with a spinach dip for a New Year's party - lots of compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
Perfect! Made 2 days in a row! Everyone loves it. I used Blackstrap Molasses. And additional 1/4 cup more of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
This recipe was grrrrrrreat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This bread is delicious. I've made it twice. Left out the caraway because I don't like it, and on the first attempt I didn't have any bread flour, so I replaced it with all purpose flour. It came out great anyway. Tastes great with a little butter, or dipped in hot tomato soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States