Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Delicious bread. I followed the recipe exactly and we love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
Very tasty and moist. I'll be making this over and over again. It did go to the very top of my bread making machine while cooking ( my machine's capacity is a 1.5 lb loaf) so keep an eye on it that the bread does not push open the top while baking. I'm not willing to alter any type or amount of ingredient...it was just too good! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
If you like your pumpernickel sweet, this is for you. But we do not. I tried it as written the first time, and the cocoa and molassas was overpowering. Next time I cut the cocoa dn doubled the caraway, and it was better, but not as good as other pumps I have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon W.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is DELICIOUS!!!! Can't wait to toast it for breakfast tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Absolutely fantastic! This is a must-bake bread. As a side, I didn't have caraway seeds, so I used cumin seeds instead. Probably a slightly different taste, but it was wonderful. I also substituted whole wheat flour for the all purpose called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
I consider myself a pretty seasoned bread maker. The only change I made to this recipe was NOT using a bread machine. The end product was very dense (even with the added wheat gluten). If you want a lighter product, I would use less whole wheat and increase the bread flour. I would also reduce the amount of cocoa to about 2 tbsp. I'll probably try this again with these modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Texture was good. I will reduce the caraway seeds and molasses by up to half as I found the caraway too strong and the bread too sweet for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good, glad I didnt cook it as long as suggested. Go by your smell when to take it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHYLIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Greenwood, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Turned out great.... flavour and texture both! Didn't have whole wheat flour but used white flour instead and it worked just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mancook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Very tasty and easy bread to make. 4 stars due to the flatness of the loaf. Used coffee instread of warm water and proofed the yeast prior to putting rest of ingredients in the breadmaker as suggested by another reviewer. Used the dough cycle and then let rise again prior to baking in a 350 oven for 45 minutes. Make sure the pan is well greased/floured as had a hard time getting mine out of a glass pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hilary

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States