Bread Machine Pumpernickel Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Perfect! Moist and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This is by far the best Pumpernickel Bread recipe!! I will be making this a lot!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
Excellent. Made exactly as is, and used blackstrap molasses - I will let it sit for a few minutes in the machine after it's done so it can "finish" because the middle was under-cooked, but otherwise it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowley, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Great dark bread. Do NOT use the quick cycle on bread machine like another person suggested. Mine was either too moist or not done enough. I use 1/4 cup extra of water to dissolve molasis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ECampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Lolo, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missnepa
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
This pumpernickel bread machine recipe is so easy and so good, it deserves 5 stars. My bread machine makes a 1.5 lb loaf, and I would say that the recipes ingredients ended up making a bigger loaf, which had just barely skimmed the top of the lid of my machine. I wouldn't scale down the ingredients because it did fit and didn't make a mess, but it does just barely fit in a 1.5 lb loaf pan when finished. I also ran mine on a medium crust, which burned in one small spot but came out delicious anyway. I have a bread slicer to make clean cuts and then I put half of the loaf in the freezer and use the half the loaf for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missnepa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Trouble getting this to rise enough? I have the solution for you! I originally made the recipe exactly as written, and then I made it with a few modifications to make it SUPER RISE. In fact, it hit the glass top of my breadmaker and was really light and people loved it. If you want it to SUPER RISE, do this: 1) add the full amount of vital wheat gluten. This is NOT optional! (Need I explain why? Bread rises because yeast releases CO2, but that isn't sufficient--you need protein structure to contain the CO2 and keep it from escaping, and that protein is GLUTEN!) 2) Add 2 tbsp (tablespoons, not teaspoons) of honey 3) Add 2 tbsp (packed) of brown sugar 4) Use Fleishmann's Rapid Rise yeast (NOT active dry yeast). If you follow these 4 additional steps, and the pumpernickel is not light enough for you, I'll eat my hat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
cut the molasses in with honey. about 1/2 & 1/2
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Mulyk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman Wells, Northwest Territories, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
great recipe, thank-you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
This bread is fantastic....used a little less cocoa and replaced one Tbls of the molases with honey....also i always let the bread machine do the work and bake in the oven...truly a delicious bread!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
This tasted NOTHING like a pumpernickel, and even WITH the vital wheat gluten it barely rose. (and my yeast is fine, I checked) I was making this to hollow out and put spinach dip in, unfortunately I am going to have to stop at the store. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwich, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Pizza Dough

This pizza crust is light and crispy, just like your favorite pizzeria's.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States