Bread Machine Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
This is one of the best recipes for the bread machine I have. I do things slightly differently. I use olive oil instead of butter, fresh oregano from my garden chopped instead of parsley, 2 t. garlic cloves crushed instead of powder, and splenda instead of sugar. I put almost everything in the warm water first than the flour than the oregano and yeast go on top. The taste with these changes is excellant. (I tried it to the letter first and didn't like it.) If you find the bread doesn't raise very much just use the "scale this recipe" to adjust it. I find that 16-18 servings uses my 2lb. machine to capacity better than leaving it at 12 (the original setting on the recipe.) Good luck! ~jllebow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLLEBOW

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pearl City, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Overall, I'd say this recipe was very good, though I did take the advice of other reviewers and ended up modifying mine somewhat. First of all, I omitted garlic powder altogether and instead used three pounded cloves of fresh garlic-- you can most definately taste the garlic, but it is not overpowering. I also did not have any powdered milk, so I used 1/4th cup of condensed milk-- I think adding actual liquid instead of powdered milk improves this bread because others have complained of it being too dry. I added 1/2 tsp oregano, 1 tsp rosemary, and used vegetable oil instead of butter. I always hate the look of bread baked in a bread machine, so I set my machine for a dough cycle and finished the bread in the oven. When the dough cycle was completed, the bread had not risen very much at all even though the yeast was fresh. I turned the dough out onto a cookie sheet, covered and let rise for another half hour, then baked at 300 degrees for about 50 mins, brushing the top of the loaf with more oil before baking and again halfway through. When it was done, the bread was VERY soft and dense, the crust was perfection. I had friends over, and the entire loaf was eaten by us with just butter. Everyone loved it! I will be making another loaf tomorrow :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarkerSolace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tullahoma, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2002
I made the dough in the bread machine, then rolled it out onto a pan and made cuts in it and baked it in the oven for garlic bread sticks. I then brushed olive oil and sprinkled garlic seasoning and parmesan cheese (close to end of baking) on it. We ate the whole thing that night. But i find the amount of garlic powder in the recipe doesnt give it enough of a garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2002
I added a tablespoon of minced garlic and found the flavor fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2002
The bread itself was tough and crumbly. However, the *idea* of adding garlic and parsley to 'your favourite bread mix' will be a winner, I am sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
Our family and friends loved this. Based on other reviews, I added a bit more garlic and it was perfect. It's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladilyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
The bread that we made that was inspired by this recipe was very, very good, but this is because we didn't follow the recipe. I highly recommend dropping the milk powder and water as well as the garlic powder and instead using 1/3 cup whole milk and minced garlic. The flavor is much better and the bread cooks up better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVPLAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Polson, Montana, USA
Living In: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
From jump street,I knew i was going to alter the recipe...MORE garlic,More butter, I added fresh ground peppercorn, the rainbow kind, not just black. It was GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
Very good flavor! It filled the entire house with that unique garlic fragrance. Texture was slightly rough, but very tender and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2002
I was not too fond of this bread. It may be my own fault. I had to make some substitutions. I used fresh garlic and parsley, because I did not have the dried. I should have left the crust selector on Light. The crust was tough. I like crusty crusts, but this was more just hard. I will try it again when I can remedy my substitutions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States