Bread Machine Garlic Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
My fiance and I thought this bread was delicious....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
This bread is the best!! You can really do so much with this recipes. Try adding some crushed red peppers, or for your everyday sandwhich bread do everything thing the same in the recipes, just leave out the spices. This makes the most moist and tastiest loaf you will ever eat. I have tred so many bread recipes and have been let down, but this one by far is the best. You can also add 1/4 cup of honey and switch the cup of warm water to milk ( leaving out the spices) and you will get the same as the milk and honey bread you can buy at the store. But back to the garlic bread, it is so good, you must try!! Serve warm with butter! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darby B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Redmond, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I made sure to sift my flour, and only used a scant 3 cups. Added a tablespoon of baking soda. Also used honey instead of sugar, olive oil instead of butter, and minced garlic (plus a couple spoonfuls of juice!) instead of powdered. Very tasty loaf, perfect with the split pea soup I'm also having tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is an excellent bread!! I made it to go with a spaghetti dinner for my daughters 1 st b-day. It got rave reviews! I will admit, I made several changes. After reading what others wrote, and looking at a couple of similar recipes I made the following changes: Added 1/2 cup fresh grated parmesean cheese, oregano instead of parsley, about 1 tsp freshly ground black pepper, 3 large cloves of fresh crushed garlic. I still had the problem that others mentioned, with the bread falling, I think that adding about 1/4 more flour would fix that. Also, next time I will add two more cloves of garlic, it was good, but not a very strong garlic flavor. I will definitely be making this again! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Barboursville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This recipe was great. I did change some things though. I added 1/4 cup extra water with the milk powder to make the bread moist. I used olive oil instead of butter and added 5 cloves chopped garlic (I am a true garlic lover). I also used 3 teaspoons yeast to compensate for the heavy ingredients. I used the medium setting on the bread machine and the bread came out perfect! Moist and very flavorful! I will definatley make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. I make bread in my bread machine all the time, and it is always better than this. Maybe it needs more yeast? The bread was terribly dense and small and tough. Avoid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
I did not like this recipe the bread came out to hard even though I cooked it on a light bake in my bread machine. The taste wasn't all that good either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
Everyone loved it. But all agreed to add more Garlic. Maybe a 3rd teaspoon?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Mattox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
For me this just turned out okay. The crust is too crunchy. It might be my machine, but I've made it three times, and it's just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This wasn't exactly the garlic bread I was looking for, but it was still tasty. In all fairness, I did make some changes based on other reviews. First, I used 4 cloves of fresh garlic (finely chopped) rather than garlic powder. It may be a bit much garlic if you're not a big fan, but my husband's motto is, "There's no such thing as too much garlic." I also used about 1/4 cup of sweetened condensed milk in place of the milk powder. Because it was sweetened, I left out the sugar. I made the dough in the bread machine and let it rise for an hour, then baked for 40 minutes at 300 degrees and another 10 minutes at 350 (to help brown the crust). I brushed the top with butter halfway through. The timing turned out to be perfect, and the bread has a good flavor, but I'm a little disappointed with the texture. I was expecting a crusty loaf, and while the crust was perfect, the texture inside was more spongy. I also thought it needed a little more salt, although that may also be due to the sweetened condensed milk. If you're looking for a moist soft bread, I think this is a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BumperJr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 222) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States