Bread Machine Focaccia Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2002
I found this bread to be very good. However, I did make some changes. I used 2 cups of all-purpose white flour + 1 cup of whole wheat flour. I also used 1 tsp. of garlic powder instead of the chopped garlic, and I used dried rosemary rather than fresh. My husband and I both loved this bread. It was so simple and turned out wonderfully. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2002
I've made this focaccia many times, and it's one of my family's favorites. One variation that I've found helps to give it more flavor is to sprinkle the top with coarse kosher salt (in addition to the rosemary leaves). It makes the top nice and crunchy, as well as more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Beautiful and delicious bread, which I used for "Gourmet Chicken Sandwiches," also from this site. For a little more flavor and pizazz, after brushing the top with olive oil, I sprinkled it with coarse salt, freshly ground pepper, shredded Parmegiano Reggiano and, finally, with fresh rosemary. The bread was SO good, but not quite as thick as I would have liked for sandwiches, so in the future I will probably bake this in a 7X11" pan rather than the 9x13."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Very good and very easy. I added about 2 teaspoons of sugar to the bread machine pan to make sure the yeast could do its job, and you could not taste it in the finished product. I also used 1 teaspoon of garlic powder, 1 teaspoon of Italian Seasoning and 2 teaspoons of dried rosemary in the bread itself. I also sprinkled kosher salt over the top of the bread along with the rosemary before putting it in the oven. Couldn't get my 11 year old daughter to try this, but that just meant more for us! My husband commented on how good it was but he didn't care for the salt on top so the next time I make this I may skip it, even though *I* really liked it with the salt! I'd also like to try using this for pizza crust... would be yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lianne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
This recipe is really wonderful!! I will say that I did increase the salt for this recipe to 3/4 teaspoon. When I prepare the focaccia with the rosemary and olive oil, I also add kosher salt before baking. Although the recipe doesn't call for it, I do grease the cookie sheet with olive oil. I serve this with a small dish of olive oil and balsamic vinegar. It is excellent! My Italian Father LOVES this:). Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Grimes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2002
This bread turned out horrible. I made it according to instructions, but must have done something wrong, I don't know what. The bread was hard as nails on the top, it totally stuck to the pan, and it was basically tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robbin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Brandon, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
I have made this over and over and it remains one of my families favorites. Quick, easy and very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This is a GREAT recipe. I tried one other yesterday, and it was not very good, very dry, and not much flavor. On the other hand this one is very nice, I used a bit more garlic and did add some kosher salt to the topping, it was far and above the other one, is now all gone!!! Did not use the bread machine, but put everything in the Kitchenaid mixer and kneaded it that way for about 5 min. Also used Spelt flour, since I have a gluten intolerant kid, but she can have Spelt. Was really GREAT. Will surely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
Okay, but I added more rosemary and garlic than listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Thanks for sharing this recipe. This is my first time trying this recipe and my focaccia turned out perfect - although it was my bread machine that did everything. I did make a few changes as suggested by others. Firstly I add warm water, 2 tablespoons sugar & 1.5 teaspoons dried active yeast into the baking pan and leave for 10 mins in the bread machine.Then I added 3 cups bread flour, 6 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil, 1.5 teaspoons garlic powder, 1 teaspoons italian herbs , 2 teaspoons dried rosemary & 1.5 teaspoons salt. Used basic bread setting and voila, 4 hours later, freshly baked focacia. Next round I will try with fresh garlic and fresh rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States