Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious! and Beautiful! Not Jewish, so I had never heard of Challah. So glad I tried this. Had absolutely no problem making this. 5 stars easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I have absolutely no idea how this is almost 5 stars. I just tried to use this recipe verbatim and it turned out a runny batter, like loose baby food. Not dough. Nothing I can work with. I wasted my night and a good amount of ingredients. Be warned. If we have Challah for Rosh Hashanah, it will be because I use another recipe or go to the store. 0 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
This was a great recipe! I added the little extra flour and the consistency was perfect. Baked very quickly and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss_October23

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Great recipe! My co-workers loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
This is absolutely the best recipe for Challah. I have made this recipe many times and it always comes out excellent.No tweaking needed, it is perfect as is. I let my loaves rise on my gas stove resting on a pot so they don't get too warm. Thanks for such a wonderful, tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
After reading the other reviews, I added an extra 1/2 cup of flour. Other than that I followed the recipe. I don't have the instructions to my bread machine, so I put in all the dry ingredients and then the wet. I set the dough setting and left it. I let the dough rise in my oven, covered in a dishtowel. (Preheated the oven to 120). I made rolls instead of a large loaf. The rolls were good, kind of dense though. Challah is a little lighter. The flavor is very good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
After reading a story to my students with Challah in it and eating some form Noah's Bakery, I had to go and find a recipe that could match such a delicious bread. This one is awesome. I have a bread machine but have never used it. The instructions seem so complicated, so I always end up making my bread by hand. I don't mind taking the time as long as the bread tastes good. I proofed the yeast (active dry) in 1/4 cup of the warm water called in the recipe and mixed everything else together including the remaining amount of water(except for the eggs). I whisked the eggs and added it to the everything mixture. Finally I added the yeast mixture. Then I added 2 cups of flour and mixed and finally 2 more cups. It turned out to be a nice dough. Yes, it was a bit sticky, but after rinsing my hands, I was able to able to ball it up and put it in my greased bowl (I used a large pot with a lid!) I turned it over once and let in rise for 1 hour in my garage since these days are 110 out here. It's a perfect place to rise bread! Then I punched it down and let it rise for 30 more minutes. Then I punched it down, kneaded it, and braided it. Then I let the braid rise for another 45 minutes. It did not rise as much as some other bread I made, but it did rise enough for me. It turned out very good! My kids liked it better than a previous recipe I've tried. It was soft, flaky, sweet moist and even buttery in a way. Next time, I'm going to increase the rising time to see if it g
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
My family loves this recipe. Some folks have mentioned that the dough is sticky...I only noticed this to be the case once when I ran out of bread flour and substituted all purpose flour. This challah is absolutely perfect and bakes up beautifully. This is the best bread I have ever baked! It is very easy to braid and rises fluffy and high. Just make sure you are using bread flour as the recipe specifies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by happycooker
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
First time I've ever made Challah and it was a success! Very good recipe, no changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happycooker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I made this after trying out the recipe for Bread Machine Challah 1. This recipe makes a dough that is easier to work with and a final presentation that is nicer looking than Challah 1, but Challah 1 is by far better tasting. We had to restrain ourselves from eating 2 loaves of Challah 1 right out of the oven. I almost threw away Challah II after tasting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshinenewday

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States