Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Really delicious! I halved the recipe to make one loaf and did as said and it came out beautifully and was almost completely gone in 10 minutes. The only reason it wasn't all eaten so fast was because I saved a piece for my mom. I'll definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
I made this because Challah is my son's favorite bread. It turned out great!! Awesome texture and a very beautiful loaf. I am a serious novice at making hand shaped loaves, but with this one, there were no troubles. I think a key is to make a fairly tight braid. Best of all, this bread made the most delicious French Toast the next morning. Definitely a keeper. Thank you Marylyn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ssharp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I've tried this Challah two times, because of the overall rating on the site. The first time, I did not change a thing, and it came out soupy. The second time I added 3/4 of a cup more flour as suggested by other reviewers, but still the bread is just not good. Even after rising, it is much to dense for a good challah. I will stick to my original recipe and not try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Willems

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
add 1/2 cup more flour, and made one loaf instead of 2, which 6 strands....2 over, one under, 2 over, one under. Bake for 25-30 minutes. Can freeze the dough braided before rising...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theycallmeoldfashioned

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Center Point, Iowa, USA
Living In: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was so easy to make and while I was intimidated by the braiding process, I have to say, the bread looks and smells amazing! So the next day I reheated the bread and I had soooo many compliments on it!!! Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnchick84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This was pretty easy to make and turned out good. Based on the reviews below, I did increase the flour to 4 and a half cups, but I found the dough to still be really sticky and hard for me to work with. So I kneaded in some extra flour, until I could work with it easier. Probably next time I will increase the flour to 5 cups and try that out. Other than that, it was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is one of my favorite recipes. It's excellent not only for holidays, but others. I just use 4 1/2 cups of bread machine flour, instead of 4 cups (hence the 4 stars.) I make 2 loaves, and give one to my happy neighbors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I've made this bread twice now and both times it took over 2 hours for the dough to double in size, even when I increased the yeast to 3 tsps. Otherwise, no complaints - easy, tasty and pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
After reading some of the reviews, I anticipated needing to add extra flour -- I ended up using 6 1/2 cups of bread flour! This made the dough very easy to work with, and I got fantastic results from the final baked product. Looking forward to making another batch! Addendum: Tried this with 2 cups whole wheat flour and 3 cups regular all-purpose flour and was great - don't see the point of using bread flour! Increased the sugar to ~3/4 cup and honey to ~4-5 tablespoons to compensate for whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPUNKEE83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
very very good. I made it on the quick cycle on my bread machine and it was a bit under done but we like challah a little gooey :) I did add 1/2c extra flour as per other postings. Probably ok w/o the extra flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States