Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Delightful! I love the touch of honey. I have made quite a few different challah recipes over the years for our Friday night meal, and this one is scrumptious, and so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
I made this for Christmas dinner to honor my Jewish friends. It came out perfect in every way. I followed the recipe as written. I did get a bit adventurous with my braiding which made it all the more beautiful. The flavor was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patience

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Cottage Grove, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
So disappointing. We were so looking to having delicious bread for dinner. Made it exactly as the recipe states and ended up with a custard/pudding that poured out of the bread machine. Added flour until it actually resembled a dough. Braided it anyway. Let it proof for 4 hours before deciding to just bake it and see what happened. Ended up with a very dry, very crumbly flour-laden loaf of something. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Medical Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
GREAT! ADD 2 cups of flour though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Recipe ratios all wrong for using it in the bread machine, as many people have stated. I have tried this one twice now trying to use people's comments. This time I used 4 1/2 cups of flour, and it was still way too doughy. Better to use a different recipe than to try and fix this one yet again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Best challah I have ever made, and I have made many! I used 4 1/4 flour as suggested. Perfect, light airy, sweet challah. Can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
My first time and it is perfect! I added a little extra flour (especially while working with the dough and made a round one (with raisins) for Rosh Ha'shana. I made a little mini one to taste test and it was awesome! I am so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I love this challah recipe. It is easy and comes out beautifully. I usually add a bit of extra honey and subtract a bit of the sugar. I think this helps keep the bread sweet without becoming too sweet. Sometimes I have to add extra flour to keep the dough from getting too moist. While the dough doesn't braid as easily as other recipes I've tried, the bread tastes better and the braid looks better after baking then some other doughs I've tried with an easier to braid consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
This is a very good recipe. I have tried several challah recipes and we loved this one. Reading other reviews, some of them mentioned "stickiness". I used 4 1/2 cups of flour and it wasn't sticky at all. Also, recipe says 20-25 minutes. At 25 minutes it hardly had any color. But this was not a big deal I just baked it longer, about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andilipi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Was a great recipe. My family begged for more. the only modification I made was instead of 1 cup water i only used half and kept everything else the same. Came out perfect every time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States