Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
I've been using this challah recipe in my bread maker for over 4 years and every time, the dough comes out wonderful! It's never been too sticky for me. A little more flour helps me to roll out the strands easily. Sometimes I mix the flours (white & stone ground whole wheat) and it still works just as well. After the machine is finished mixing, kneading & rising the dough, I braid it in a six-strand braid, let it rise some more, brush it with the egg wash, put sesame seeds on and bake it. I've never had a failure with this recipe or this method of braiding. It's simple, easy to make, and yields delicious challah. A Jewish friend told me it looks just like the challah his mother made when he was growing up. I must be doing something right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Muscat, Masqat, Oman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
Delicious!!! So soft and moist! I wish I could braid it tighter so that it looked prettier like the photo! Absolutely wonderful! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
Can't believe I never reviewed this recipe...have been using for a couple of years. It is fantastic! I make just as written except usually use 4 1/2 cups of flour. I also sprinkle with sesame seeds or poppy seeds after the egg wash. This is an unbelievably great recipe, which my husband loves! Thank you SO much for this wonderful recipe...now if I could only braid the bread better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wolfe City, Texas, USA
Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I make this recipe every week now and I think it is outstanding. One point of disagreement with the reviewers here - yes the dough is sticky, but adding so much additional flour changes the texture away from the tender and light qualities of the original. I've found that if I am diligent about having floured hands and a floured board (but not too much flour!) the stickiness problem drops considerably. It also helps to divide the recipe into 3 loaves rather than 2, and to flour a pastry cutter to help transfer the loaves onto the baking stone. also, to get a super shiny glaze, egg wash once after braiding, and a second time after rising. enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Having read previous comments, I knew this recipe might come out wet and sticky. It was extremely wet and I added quite a bit of flour during initial cycle. However it really did not rise. I baked it in a bread pan. It did not bake well and the center was not done. I usually have good luck with other well rated recipes, but I was very disappointed in this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Outrageously good! I see no reason to ever use another bread recipe. Usually I find homemade bread bland and disappointing, but this is great and the texture was perfect. I know some people have mentioned consistency problems, but mine was perfect - flour is finicky. On a relatively dry, cold day, my dough was smooth and satiny and perfect, and I used all of the proportions listed in the recipe (maybe a bit more salt). Thank you so much - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
i love this recipe i have had to put a little more flour but it always comes out perfect and last week i made it into whole wheat bread :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
This is the recipe I use every week. I add vanilla (1-2 tsp).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Puck
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as directed, and THEN read the reviews...so I had a moment of panic when I thought for sure it wasn't going to turn out right. But, much to my delight, I had no problems. The dough was slightly sticky, but nothing a little flour on the hands couldn't fix. It was easy to work with, and it turned out wonderfully! We really enjoyed this bread, and I will be making it a lot. Also, if anyone is in need of a good laugh, I submitted a picture of my bread. The camera made it look yellow (which it is not in real life, it is a lovely brown), and my braiding skills leave much to be desired (as my daughter has been telling me since she could talk), but the bread is delicious and that is what matters :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I also added the extra 3/4 cup of flour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Putnam Valley, New York, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States