Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
If you read through the previous reviews, the 1 constant remark “the bread is sticky” appears. We added an additional ¾ c flour to our bread machine (using a total of 4 ½ c flour) which did the trick. What’s the point of using the bread machine if you’re kneading more (in this case A LOT) of extra flour in the end? Our finished product turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
The dough was extremely sticky but after adding a ton of flour to it, it became workable and we were able to braid it. The end product was delicious though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This is the best Challah recipe! I had just gotten a bread maker that I wanted to try out so I baked this for Sabbath dinner one night instead of buying our Challah. Three generations of family gave it rave reviews! My cousins were fighting over the last piece! We are Jewish and we eat Challah AT LEAST once a week so we all know good Challah when we taste it! My sister taught me that you know your Challah is cooked completely when it sounds hollow when you knock on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
This is a fantastic, easy recipe. I doubled the honey and added a little extra yeast, and both loaves turned out beautifully. Next time I will probably triple the honey or add 1/2 cup of honey and then decrease the white sugar; but one thing is for certain - I will be making this again! Update - here's a tip - if you are using quite a bit of honey, mix it in with the water and have it count in your water measurement, otherwise you end up having to add a lot more flour and can end up with a door stop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2007
Very good, easy recipe. This recipe is also good by adding one cup of whole wheat flour to replace one of the cups of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Looked and tasted great, but I couldn't figure out when it was done so it was a bit undercooked on the inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Yummy yummy. Be sure you use bread flour, otherwise the dough might be too sticky. When I first tried this recipe I halved it and the loaf did not rise. I tried it again as written and it was perfect. My daughter's nursery school class ate a loaf for snack and not a crumb was left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
I must admit that I was rather skeptical when I first read this recipe. I did not believe a bread machine could produce a tasty Challah bread without using butter. I was really surprised at the results. I don't think I will ever make it by hand again. It was soooo easy and very yummy! Every one in the house was drooling for more. I have made it several times now and have even made the dough into rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I've made this recipe 4 times in the bread machine now, and it's always been great. Usually it is very sticky to handle, so flour *everything*--your hands, your board,...and have extra flour on hand for frequent re-dosing. I enjoy adding 1 cup plumped golden raisins just before braiding, and everyone loves it. The center usually ends up chewy (whether with our without raisins), but my family seems to prefer it that way. I imagine if you baked it longer it might cook more thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
This is the best sweet bread ever.. My husband and son just love it.. We eat one whole loaf the day it is made. And 2 days later the other one is gone as well.. Thank you for the racipe.. God Bless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuliAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States