Bread Machine Challah II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
Followed review instructions to add more flour. It was perfect! Thanks for the recipe, I am using it to make French toast casserole tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Delicious!!! This dense challah has a sweet and delicious flavor. I too added 1/2 cup of high gluten bread flour to the batch which made the consistency perfect! I used to make this recipe with my bread machine, but it broke. I made this recipe last night - making 1.5x the recipe in my kitchen aid. I let the yeast, sugar and water proof for 10 minutes and then mixed in all of the wet ingredients and then all of the dry ingredients. PERFECT!!!! I let it rise in a "PAMed" large bowl covered with saran wrap - in my microwave (I learned that trick somewhere - The dough is still warm from the warm water added to it. I place it in the microwave to rise bc it is confined in there and the walls or the microwave keep it insulated, removing the need to placing in on top of a pot of warm water... (it just gets a little annoying if i NEED the microwave during that time). Let rise for 1.5 hours. Breaded it and let rise for 30 minutes. I have also used this delicious dough for babka and ragulach. The strechines and elasticity of the dough is really great! I did not need to add any more flour after the initial ingredients were all combined!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
OMG! this bread is addictive literally one of the best things that I have ever made, and I cook all the time. Easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I can't say enough good things about Challah. It's one of my favorite breads to make and this is a good recipe. The only thing I didn't like was the amount of oil in it... I could feel it while kneeding it between rises...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I've tried so many challah recipes and I like this one a lot. I followed a reviewer's suggestion and added an extra 1/2 cup flour to prevent stickiness. It had wonderful texture and flavor. The first time I made it I didn't have any honey, but after making it again with the honey added, I actually liked it better without because it was a tad bit fluffier. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
I used this recipe to make the Thanksgiving cornucopia on this site. I added about a 1/4 of wheat flour, and exchanged another 1/2cp wheat for white flour. I had enough for the cornucopia, and a small braided loaf...which was beautiful, and tasted wonderful. Thank You for this recipe..I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
So good!! I had to add a lot more flour but it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly Marx

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Best challah ever! Turned out perfect without any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by I Love Troy
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Delicious! and Beautiful! Not Jewish, so I had never heard of Challah. So glad I tried this. Had absolutely no problem making this. 5 stars easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I have absolutely no idea how this is almost 5 stars. I just tried to use this recipe verbatim and it turned out a runny batter, like loose baby food. Not dough. Nothing I can work with. I wasted my night and a good amount of ingredients. Be warned. If we have Challah for Rosh Hashanah, it will be because I use another recipe or go to the store. 0 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States